We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harris Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Stornoway)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caladh Inn(Stornoway)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabarfeidh Hotel(Stornoway)
$156
$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
195
161
54
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
161
54
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraditional hotelsuperior roomdining roomplace to staywell stocked barlovely gardenpublic roomsevening mealouter hebridesdinner menucomfortable hotelroom was largedrying roomsitting areastaff were attentivethree nightsexcellent food
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 437 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the Harris hotel from 25th September 2013 for two nights. First impression says a lot about a hotel. Here the welcome was friendly and warm with good information about what was available within the hotel and locally. The room was very comfortable, I had booked a single room but was placed in a double room which was a nice upgrade. The room was furnished to a high standard and included all the nice wee extras which show that the owners want to feel that they care. The food in the restaurant was was good, but a limited selection which was probably down to the time of year. There are a number of nice welcoming public rooms which allowed you more freedom within the hotel. The weather during my visit was the best you could hope for at the end of September. The beaches on Harris are out of this world. I felt that I had died and gone to heaven. I only had one complaint and that was that my stay at this hotel and island was only for two days. I wish it could have been longer, but at least I have an excuse to return to what is without doubt the most beautiful Island in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night and a very comfortable night it was. We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent. The dining room experience was second to none with excellent service and really good food. Breakfast was a typical Scottish breakfast which meant we needed nothing else until evening!! (apart from the odd coffee and shortbread biscuit!!) Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank SueH062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back after a return visit to The Harris Hotel and can honestly say it never disappoints.A lovely family run hotel in an amazing setting. The room was as always perfect ,we have a family room with a double,single and Z bed but it still has plenty of space to move around in. The hotel itself has a home from home feel about it with a lovely dining room where we enjoyed an evening meal and a full breakfast. Only thing we did differently (and will certainly do again) is on our second night we ate in the hotel's bar across the road and was pleasantly surprised by the choice and value it offered. Lovely place to stay and will certainly be back and for longer next time!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbdhfhdnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Harris Hotel is family owned and run - and it shows. The service from Andrew, Sarah and the entire staff is second to none. Nothing is a problem. The rooms are all well appointed and comfortable. The dining room is very much traditional with excellent service and outstanding food. The two lounge areas are pleasant and relaxing while the choice of malts in the bar is impressive. I use the hotel for courses and they can accommodate small courses very comfortably in the Gun Room or larger courses in the Conference Room. Both are well equipped. The hotel is literally two minutes from the ferry terminal and is centrally located in Harris. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Harris Hotel for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A lovey hotel with a very pretty garden. Rooms were large and clean, staff were friendly and helpful. The veggie cooked breakfast was excellent. They have a nice lunge area too for chilling out after a day hiking, and the room had a big bath - ideal after a long day or if you got caught in the rain. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews