We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located stop off”
Review of Harris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well located stop off”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were doing a top to bottom island tour, spending a day on each of the islands and so a day in each accommodation we booked.
We were given room 21 which was a good sized double room, with an en suite bathroom. Modern decor, good fittings, nothing less than you would expect. Free WiFi in the lounges.
Had dinner in the hotel, nice steak for me, great scallopos for himself, followed by a cheese platter in the bar slightly later.
Breakfast was adequate, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cooked food, toast, tea/coffee. Certainly filling enough to not need lunch.
Staff were attentive, quick check in and check out. Overall...good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephy12WestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    139
    44
    19
    6
See reviews for
55
183
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beware if you’re staying in this hotel if you’re part of a tour. We were on a recent mini-bus trip (with Brightwater Holidays) to St Kilda with 10 other travellers. Our dinner bore no resemblance to the hotel’s main menu. Instead, on each of our three evening meals we were given choices that were severely limited and restricted. Some of our party were convinced that several dishes had actually been microwaved. This was true ‘bus party’ fare. However, this was not a budget trip - but an expensive four day holiday.

The hotel was comfortable enough, though the decor a little tired. Service bordered on the indifferent.

Watch out for the ‘continental’ breakfast. We were offered this instead of a full breakfast due to the ’early’ departure of the ferry from Tarbet (7.30am). If you’re happy with cereal and toast, fine. But if you’re expecting the usual selection of breads, cheeses, cold cuts of meat, fresh fruit etc - don’t hold your breath. It was all rather basic, dull, unimaginative – and poor value. And the service at that time of the morning was not much better.

Deeply disappointing. Not good enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent three nights in the hotel while touring the Outer Hebrides. You take a chance when you book without seeing, however TripAdvisor said it was good and it certainly was. We had room 10 which turned out to be a small beautifully furnished suite with views over the harbour and gardens and mountains. The restaurant was very "posh" and the food was excellent, I had one of the best surloin steaks ever and the choice for breakfast was was enormous.
My only gripe in what was a wonderful stay sounds very petty but so easily could have been put right. We had 5 meals in the restaurant and every table we sat at had a small vase of real flowers on it. But on every occasion some of the flowers were dead with broken stems. It looked horrible and looking around the restaurant the flowers on other tables were in the same state. Surely somebody could go around the tables before every meal to remove dead flowers from the vases.
The hotel is really well placed to tour both Harris and Lewis and is very close to the ferry terminal. We will definately stay again but maybe in the winter when the flowers might be artificial!

Room Tip: Room 10 is a really nice small suite with brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picman7096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is welcoming and very comfortable. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is relaxed.
We were a party of photographers travelling round Harris during the day and eating in the hotel in the evenings. The provided packed lunches were also very good.
I would not hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a tour of the Isle of Harris. Centrally located in Tarbert (not that you can be far from anything in Tarbert). My room was comfortable although one of my fellow travellers had a leaky shower and was located next to a constantly running washer/dryer. The furnishings and carpet are older. The reception, bartenders, waitstaff are all very friendly and accommodating - they added a vegetarian entree to their menu for my group.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Holiday experience spoiled by poor meal experience. My companion was served a fish dish which was raw, complained to staff, who were apologetic and a new meal served. Imagine our horror when the replacement meal was served equally raw. Complained to staff again and we were told something was wrong with the equipment. Will not be recommending this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balbirnie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our room turned out to be a mini suite with a bedroom, bathroom and a room with a TV, settee and the usual facilities for tea/coffee making. The room overlooked a pleasant formal garden at the front and the loch from the side. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were attentive and helpful. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in in the Outer Hebrides but it was still value for money. The restaurant offered a wide choice and both of us really enjoyed our meals. The bar offered an enormous range of whiskies, I was spoilt for choice. The usual offering of full Scottish, Haddock, Kippers, etc for breakfast . A good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
25.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
128.7 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
258.2 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel

Property: Harris Hotel
Address: Scott Road, Tarbert HS3 3DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Harris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing