We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and good food”
Review of Harris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and good food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights. Very comfortable - but I think I did get upgraded to one of the better rooms on the front (no extra charge). Room was large and a good bathroom.
Food in the restaurant was generally very good - friendly service.
Great location for getting to the beaches on Harris, and not that far for getting over the hill onto Lewis. Wish I'd stayed here rather than moving onto another hotel!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms on the front are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildcardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    141
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
57
184
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night only in September this year. The hotel was clean and the room was well appointed. Food was also of a high standard and was nicely prepared and served in the main dining room.

My only difficulty was with car parking, which was tight in the rather small car park, and resulted in us being blocked in for a time when we were ready to leave.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would revisit when next in the Outer Hebrides.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Harris Hotel. Nice position handy for ferry. Food was good and the hotel was beautifully clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

However our bed was soo hard that I woke each morning stiff & aching. Others in our party also complained about the beds. When I asked at reception if they could give us a softer mattress the receptionist expressed surprise that the bed was hard, but as they did not have another mattress they put a duvet on the mattress which did help. She also was most apologtic and thanked me for bringing it to their attention and said that if we didn't tell the hotel they would not know there was a problem with hard mattresses but on reading reviews on this site there are reviews going back to 2008 complaining about the hard beds!!

One other point which is no reflection on the hotel at all. Everything on Harris closes down on Sunday. Saying this you can still get lunch and a drink at the Harris Hotel on Sunday which was a relief.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank country-lady-SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel at some point every year for the last 11 years. The welcome from the staff is typically Hebridean - warm and friendly. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the Calmac terminal and the centre of Tarbert. There's a pub over the road (same owners) and a garage with fuel. The hotel is warm and the rooms are a decent size. This visit we were there with our two young kids and we stayed in a family room which had a separate sleeping area for the children. The hotel had a new evening menu on offer (food from 5pm) with a decent selection of bar food rather than the previously offered more formal restaurant menu. This worked well for us and we opted to eat in the front bar area (although we could have gone through to the more formal dining area). Nice bottle of NZ pinot noir and plenty of drinks options for the kids. Although there's no set kids menu they will do children's portions of most choices (lasagne, meatballs and spaghetti, fish and chips, macaroni cheese etc). The rooms are warm and quiet at night and we had a great sleep both nights. The only slight let down was breakfast - a fairly limited choice of cold options. Cereals, a bowl of prunes, a bowl of grapefruit segments, a few yoghurts and some granny smith apples. A few bananas, oranges and perhaps some bakery items would have made a world of difference. Hot food was cooked to order and very tasty as was the porridge.

Its a small quibble though - we love this hotel and will continue to return as often as we can. Good to see it so busy on this trip - suspect the new menu has a lot to do with attracting in more visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed here this summer. great hotel every thing was done to help make their guests stay easy. fresh cooked food with scottish theme. endless coffee after the meal with time to enjoy it it still make us smile

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42david42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a tour of the islands. The accomodation is clean and servicable and agree with William Walker24 that the floor was creaky. which perhaps added to the personality of the place. During our stay the menu for dinner did not change, there were no specials on offer and the food can only be described as adequate. Service in the restaurant was unsmiling and lacked personality. I searched for but found no literature or information on the surrounding area in the Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_webster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Harris Hotel, Tarbert, In the Hebridean island of Harris and Lewis for three nights in early October just recently. Our stay was very much enjoyed. Food good on the whole. Room excellent. Staff particularly the young Harris girls were very nice and helpful. Very pleasant Dining Room and Lounge. It is a very old hotel but brought up to date. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamthebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
462 reviews
25.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
8.4 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
43 reviews
21.5 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel

Property: Harris Hotel
Address: Scott Road, Tarbert HS3 3DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing