We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved it”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed June 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Location good, facilities in house excellent. Everything is 'John Lewis' so good quality. Helpful info in cottage, and kind of owners to check that we were ok.
We loved South Harris and Bosta beach on Lewis. Nice walk up to Scalpay lighthouse. Minibus tour was great too. Cath picked us up from Tarbet and we had a day with her. She showed us beautiful beaches, Leverburgh and wonderful 'croft 36,' not to mention the weaving vist to Rebecca at Northton and the Harris Tweed exhibition about Marion Campbell - most interesting.
Weather was hot all week, got sunburnt. Wellies, coats etc definitely never came out of the car. Ferry from Leverburgh to Berneray wonderful, we did it twice, once as foot passengers then as we left 4 days later with car. A great holiday. Thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Hi John, Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your kind comments. It sounds like you had a great time with fine weather. I'm so glad you enjoyed Albany Cottage, and had all the facilities you needed. You certainly made the most of your visit to Harris by getting out and about, and seeing the whole island. Good to hear that the Tour was well enjoyed. I hope that we can welcome you both back to Albany Cottage soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J T
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great base for the Harris holiday”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage was extremely comfortable and well-appointed. It had everything we required and more. The attention to detail was remarkable with printed and annotated instructions for all the facilities and also a comprehensive folder of local walks and other activities. Martin made contact early in the holiday to check we had everything we needed. Although we had a week of glorious weather the external drying room will prove extremely useful in less clement conditions!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2018
Hello JT (and C), Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to know that you had everything you needed at Albany Cottage. It sounds like you got out and about and had a fantastic time with really good weather. Early June is certainly a good time to visit the Isle of Harris. Do come back and see us again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackPacke...
1 review
“Comfortable and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Provided with easy to follow directions to the cottage which is a maximum of a 10 minute drive from the ferry terminal. Everything you could wish for contained there, lots of information on places to visit and things to do. Sat reading in the sunshine on the bench at the rear of the property, slept well in a very comfortable bed. Great trip all round.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your kind comments. Glad to hear you had full advantage of the lovely Isle of Harris sunshine - it makes all the difference! I'm pleased you found everything to your liking in Albany Cottage, and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon. There's always plenty to see and do in the Hebrides! Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattalapp...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A really lovely cottage in a beautiful area. Everything in there has been thought of perfectly, from clear instructions for all the appliances, right down to the availability of binoculars. Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2018
Hi WattalappamWarrior, Than you very much for your excellent review. It sounds like you had a great time staying at Albany Cottage. It's good to know you had everything you needed and, as you discovered, the binoculars are useful for the wonderful wildlife sightings. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol P
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This cottage is simply perfect. It has everything you need for your self catering holiday and the quality of the of the crockery, cutlery, linen, furniture etc. is excellent. Everything is well cared for and the owners should be proud of this rental.
Great views from all the rooms expecially the view acroos to Scalpay.
There is some outdoor seating and if you are lucky you will see a golden eagles that soars above the hills behind the cottage.
We will definitely return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2018
Hi Carol, Thank you so much for your glowing review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm so glad your stay at Albany Cottage was exceptionally comfortable, and that you had everything you needed. You had a great time out and about on the Isle of Harris, and the wildlife sightings are indeed spectacular. I'm pleased to hear you would like to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Albany Cottage in the future. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kas122017
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just 10 minutes away from Tarbet in the car, where you will find the Harris distillery which is well worth a visit. Plenty of good walks nearby including Scalpay lighthouse.
Cottage lovely and clean with everything you could think of with a great view from every window.
Would definitely stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Hi Karen, Thank you very much for your excellent review of Albany Cottage. We really appreciate your kind comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed the comforts and facilities of the cottage, and that you managed to get out and about and do lots of good walking. Harris is lovely in October and you certainly made the most of it. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location just what we wanted.”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The best appointed cottage we have stayed on the islands. Great location & have recommend to friends and family. Excellent !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Hi Chris, Thank you for a 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm very pleased to hear you liked Albany Cottage and all its facilities. Thanks for recommending to your friends, and hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Isle of Harris soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing