We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage with great equipment”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sberding
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful cottage with great equipment”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is absolutely superb and met with all our needs. The contact with the owner was very easy and friendly. There is lots of space inside and outside. My personal favourite was probably the kitchen. Whenever I come back to the Isle of Harris it will be to Albany Cottage!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen equiment and utility room
Liked least: nothing really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Hi Susanne, Thank you very much for your excellent review. I'm glad you had a great time at Albany Cottage and enjoyed all the facilities. We tried to think of everything for the kitchen, and it seems to have worked! I hope you will come back and see us again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormy60
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful luxury cottage not far from Tarbert.”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely stay at Albany cottage. Best self catering we've ever stayed in with everything you could need.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Hi Stormy60, Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciated your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed Albany Cottage and that it was the best cottage you have found! That's wonderful. I hope you had a good time on Harris and will want to return soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen is fantastic!!
Liked least: Only one bedroom
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Hi Matt, Thank you very much for your excellent review - we really appreciate your kind comments. I'm glad to hear that the cottage had everything you needed, and more! That's exactly what we aim to provide. As you say, Albany Cottage is well located for exploring the whole of Harris and Lewis, the mountains and the beaches, the attractions and the eateries. I do hope you are able to come back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plankton4...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, amazing place”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is quite exceptional accommodation. I honestly couldn't think of a single detail missed. From the superb fitted kitchen and the quality fixtures to the comfortable bed and lovely bathroom, the whole cottage gave us a feeling of comfort, space and attention to detail.

They didn't seem to be anything that have been missed out we had Sky HD television in the kitchen and the living room, although we never watched anything much. Why would you when you could just watch out the window instead? There were little essentials in the kitchen just so that you could make a drink and settle down when you got there. And as I said previously everything in the kitchen and the kitchen itself with extremely high quality so you want scrabbling about trying to find a pan or a cheese grater. There's even a breadmaker and the next Bresso machine!

Admittedly, we had a week off absolutely glorious weather. Although, I would love to have been in that cosy little cottage with a storm lashing around outside. It's an easy although spectacular drive from Tarbert to the cottage. And really there is no way to articulate the views from anywhere on the island they are all equally spectacular. We Donely been there a couple of days and we already seen a white tailed eagle, several buzzards, a pair of golden eagles, seals and porpoise.

The rest of the island is fabulous; head to Lewis for the history and some of the more stark and in eerie scenery. Head down south for the absolutely breathtaking beaches of South West Harris.

Communication with Martin, the owner, was pleasant and easy and he was very keen to ensure that we had the best time. Which indeed we did. We would probably recommend this cottage to anyone visiting.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the kitchen
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Hi Plankton47, Thank you so much for your positively glowing review of Albany Cottage. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm so glad that you found everything in the cottage to be so excellent. That's exactly what we want for you. As you say, Albany Cottage is in the best position for visiting all the wonderful sights and scenery that Harris and Lewis have to offer, and you certainly made the most of the fine weather. You had some wonderful wildlife sightings too. There's always plenty to see and do in Harris at all times of the year. I hope we shall be able to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magsclark
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"I could live in this house"”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Yes, that's true, a lovely homely house, all facilities you could want, comfortable, warm...I didn't need to light the fire despite the weather not being brilliant. Bed very comfortable and got a good nights sleep every night, only time I woke was because I could hear the sheep sheltering by the front door, didn't disturb me though and it was a very windy night. Good bathroom and shower, comfortable sofas, good wifi and Sky TV. Handy for Tarbert and the ferry and shops, cash ATM, plus the bistro on Scalpay was good too, you need to book. The west coast of South Harris has wonderful beaches but there was a chill wind when I was there. Leverburgh community store good and there's a tapestry display of the area...St Clements church in Rodel interesting too. Don't miss the Calanish Stones, a very special place.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: Only the gate to get in was a bit stiff for me, but necessary to keep the sheep out, no problem.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
"Hi Margaret, Thank you for your lovely review of Albany Cottage. It’s great that you found the cottage so comfortable and relaxing. It sounds like you really got out and about all over Harris and Lewis and had an enjoyable holiday. There’s always plenty to see and do in the area and the island is indeed beautiful. Do come back and see us again some time. Many thanks, Martin"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJB_61
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage is located just 5 miles from the Tarbert and less than a mile from the village of Scalpay with stunning sea and mountain views.
Harris is an interesting, beautiful place to visit and we were pleasantly surprised to find plenty to keep us occupied without needing to island-hop, despite being off-season. In particular we enjoyed visiting the Callanish stones, Scalpay lighthouse, Bostadh beach, Uig and Carloway Broch. It's also a great place for walking, cycling and wildlife spotting.
The cottage is very spacious and comfortable for two people and beautifully furnished. Although it has an electric fire and a wood burning stove, neither were necessary with the central heating which was excellent. Outside there is plenty of room for parking, seating areas which are great for relaxing and a large shed suitable for storing our bikes.
There is a large collection of maps and tourist information, not to mention many DVDs, CDs and books, many with a Scottish or Hebridean theme which we really enjoyed.
The cottage is remarkably well equipped and it's clear that a great deal of thought has gone into providing anything and everything guests may need.
We would strongly recommend this property and fully intend to return.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
Hi BJB, Thank you so much for a truly first-rate review! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities at Albany Cottage. You certainly seem to have had a good time, getting out and about all over the island. There is plenty to see and do at this time of year on the Isle of Harris. Lovely to hear also that you found all the books and maps helpful. We are delighted that you would like to return to Albany Cottage and look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“luxury in a stunning location”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

well equipped cottage,loads of space but still cosy.,kitchen fantastic. great selection of local maps,guidebooks,local interest books and DVDs.good walks suggestions. cycle storage.
local bistro ,walking distance on Scalpay excellent.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
Hi Susan, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I 'm glad to hear that you found Albany Cottage spacious and comfortable. It's good to have plenty of space in the kitchen, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. There's always plenty to see and do in Harris, and you certainly got out and about and made the most of it. Do come back and see us again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing