We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, bigger than we expected”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Albany Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AlanC_ac
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, bigger than we expected”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a great week at Albany Cottage. It has everything we could have wanted, including even an espresso coffee machine! All of the main rooms look out onto the (very minor) road, and then onto the sea beyond, with views across to Scalpay. Unfortunately, there's a cottage directly opposite, which blocks it a bit, but it's still a great outlook. Plenty of places to sit, armchairs (& a TV) in the kitchen/diner, and comfortable sofa & armchairs in the living room, for us to watch the Wimbledon highlights (and some we recorded on the Sky box), on the large TV. Although it was summer, it felt like the heating would have been good if it had been colder. All in all, we'd thoroughly recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loads of space
Liked least: The cottage opposite blocking part of the view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Hi Alan, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed all the spacious facilities at Albany Cottage, and had a great time on the Isle of Harris. The view is always spectacular! Come back and see us again soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A
Cononley, United Kingdom
1 review
“great, ideal cottage for two people”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we had a great week. beautiful location, and standing on the bridge to scalpay was fantastic for spotting otters, porpoises and seals. The weather was pretty poor so we really appreciated the spacious character and comfort of this cottage, lots of room to relax. It was great to have a fascinating and useful collection of books about the area to browse, as well as the scottish dvd collection, while the giant thermos flask was ideal for keeping us warm when we were out! Nice to have a proper recycling system in place too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2015
Hi Michael, Thank you for your lovely review - we really appreciate your kind comments. You certainly had a great time with some wonderful wildlife sightings. I'm glad you enjoyed the collection of books and media - we thought it would be useful to have and it looks like we hit the mark there. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Harris again at some time. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma v
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Albany cottage is a fully equiped holiday cottage. The owners have thought of every wish possible and went the extra mile. The cottage is warm and cosy and has nice views.
If you want to visit Harris and Scalpay, this is an excellent choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen/diner was the very cosy heart of the cottage
Liked least: the soft settee in the living room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2015
Hi Wilma, Thank you for your glowing review, and I'm glad to hear that you had a great week in Albany Cottage on the Isle of Harris. We have tried to think of everything you might need, and it looks like we succeeded! I was pleased that you enjoyed the fresh cappuccino each morning from the espresso machine. That's a great way to start your holiday breakfast. Come back soon. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
194damien...
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect cottage at the perfect location for visiting Harris and Lewis islands. Spotless, big kitchen , comfy living room with excellent books on Scottish islands. Everything you need if you want to be Connected( internet, wifi, Tv, dvd, sat tv...). Great place not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Confortable.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
Hi Damien, Thank you very much for your kind comments. I'm delighted that Albany Cottage was perfect for you, and that you enjoyed the Isle of Harris. I hope you would like to come back to the islands and see us again some time. There's certainly plenty to do, and your comfort is assured! Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda R
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury with a view”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Spent a week in this lovely cottage. Everything you could wish for and more. All the comforts of home with lots of thought having been put into making it just right. Fabulous position overlooking loch. Nice outside seating area for sunny evenings with mountains and sea loch. Great base for exploring and there are lots of maps, walk books, information books and DVDs about the area. Very welcoming place to stay and a lovely comfortable house to return to after a day's walking. Hopefully we will be back and I would definitely recommend Albany Cottage to anyone wanting a place to stay on the beautiful island of Harris.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Hi Linda, Thank you so much for your glowing review which is much appreciated. I'm so glad that everything was so good for you at Albany Cottage, and that you had a good time out and about, exploring the Isle of Harris. As you say, there is indeed plenty to see, and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon to see the rest! Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanoma...
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage was comfort itself. Everything you needed was provided. The location was excellent for touring both Harris and Lewis and very convenient if you are doing the Uig-Tarbert route.

All in all a very enjoyable and memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Hi sultanoman, Thank you for your very kind comments. I'm pleased you found 'perfection' at Albany Cottage and will want to visit the Isle of Harris again. You certainly had some fantastic wildlife sightings. Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extremely comfortable and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Albany Cottage is in a lovely part of Harris, overlooking Scalpay, which has good walks, a shop and an excellent cafe. The Cottage has been beautifully modernised and refurbished, with an array of modern equipment in a well designed kitchen-diner, excellent technological connections (wifi, TV, Sky), a very comfortable bedroom and sitting room, and a spacious, immaculate bathroom. Everything one could want in terms of space (for two) and facilities for a relaxing holiday is supplied, and the owner is friendly and helpful. Book ferries on and off Harris well in advance (we had to leave a day early to go home, as Saturday ferries were all booked up) and be prepared for all kinds of weather (including several kinds in one day). For sunny weather there is a nice garden space in which to sit and admire the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2014
Hi John B, Thank you for your excellent review. Good to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Albany Cottage. I'm pleased that you found all the facilities comfortable and spacious, and you enjoyed the large bathroom - it makes all the difference! Come back to Harris soon! Many thanks, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing