We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a league of its own”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Ceol na Mara is at the very top of the range of B&Bs. The breakfast alone is in a league of its own for choice and quality. In fact, by introducing me to the concept of porridge with whisky-soaked sultanas it has changed my life! The exquisite lochside setting was a wonderful surprise, as were the welcoming drams of whisky and sherry. We also liked the well-researched tips of local attractions, including a recommended driving tour with map.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Hancill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

John and Marlene are wonderful hosts, very friendly and quickly put you at ease. The guest house is lovely, the breakfasts are great, the lounge room is very comfortable with a good library.
It is very well located for travel to all parts of Harris and for hill walking excursions. I felt very relaxed after staying twelve nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_BC7349OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The B&B was visited for one night on a trip to the Hebrides. First the good points, it is spotlessly clean , we stayed in the Lemon room which was spacious with a spacious en suite the breakfast in the morning was very tasty and plentiful with great choice. It is also in a fantastic setting with glorious views.
The two disappointing points the shower cubicle was a little on the small side and the water power quite weak. The main adverse point is the noise insulation between rooms or rather the lack of it, TV ,conversation and all plumbing noises could be distinctly heard from other rooms. In cheaper places this could maybe expected but the B&B is not at the cheaper end of the B&B market..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilllbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Whilst touring the Hebrides we had stayed in 2 indifferent hotels and then we came to this. Bliss!
The location is lovely with fabulous views
Our room had everything in it that you could possibly want
A big comfy bed
Decanters of sherry and malt whisky
Fridge
Bathrobes
Highland soap Co toiletries
Hot water bottle!
All immaculate and tasteful
Fantastic breakfast - the only place on our entire trip where I managed to get natural unsweetened yogurt - and it was home-made. Wonderful kippers.
Two guest sitting areas.
I cannot find a single negative thing to say about this guest house (except I wish I had booked for longer!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Ceol na Mara Guest House overlooks a lovely loch and there is some interesting evening rambling just outside its front door. Our room (the Lilac room) was immaculate and upon entering we were greeted with a glass of sherry and one of whisky. For our trip to St Kilda, John and Marlene (the owners) packed enough food for breakfast and lunch for the two of us as part of their regular service. The food included sandwiches made from home-baked bread and was more than enough to sustain us throughout the day. Breakfasts choices were many, varied, (e.g. one salmon dish is served with a glass of prosecco), excellently cooked and attractively displayed on the plate. We stayed there three nights and would unreservedly recommend this guest house to all and sundry.

Room Tip: The Lilac room has a private bathroom directly across the hall and has a lovely view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Ceol na Mara guest house just for one night during our short but wonderful trip to Harris. John and Marlene were terrific hosts, very warm and welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. Their property is situated just 5 minutes drive from Tarbert and has stunning views all around. Our stay was very comfortable, the rooms spacious and well equipped as well as two fantastic guest rooms for you to chill out and relax.

The breakfast deserves a rating by itself if truth be told! The menu is outstanding but we had to keep it pretty light as we were cycling early morning. What we had was fantastic though and all tastes really are catered for.! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Ceol na Mara for two nights while we explored Harris and Lewis. It is located in a beautifully scenic spot overlooking a sea loch where we spotted seals in the mornings and evenings. John and Marlene were truly welcoming hosts and the breakfast that we had there was incredible as John and Marlene make their own bread, yogurt and muesli - so delicious! There were fantastic communal areas on each floor and the room was nice and cosy with lots of information provided about things to see and do around the islands. The B&B made a really good base for exploring Harris and Lewis and is really nearby to some of the best spots like Luskentyre Beach and Loch Seaforth. We really enjoyed our stay at Ceol na Mara and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
515 reviews
9.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
48 reviews
15.5 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harris Hotel
Harris Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tarbert
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceol na Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceol na Mara Guest House

Address: 7 Direcleit, Tarbert HS3 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: $188 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ceol na Mara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the privacy and seclusion of this recently re-furbished early 20th century Hebridean house set in 55 acres of unspoiled crofting land at the north end of the beautiful Isle of Harris in the Western Isles of Scotland. All rooms have spectacular views over Loch Kindebig, yet only a few minutes from the Ferry Terminal at Tarbert and many fine eating places. Enjoy a unique taste of the Hebrides at this top quality Guest House in the Isle of Harris. Centrally situated to allow easy access to all parts of Harris as well as Lewis. Residents lounges on each of the three floors. Two double en-suite rooms : One twin en-suite : One double with private facilities : Separate Dining Room. All rooms with sea view : silent fridge : complimentary dram : organic toiletries : flat screen TV & free wireless broadband : ipod / iphone docking station. Five star breakfast menu featuring the very best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ceol na Mara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceol Na Mara Guest House Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing