We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
EDINBURGH
2 reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very clean, comfortable and friendly. Excellent breakfast.
Best B&B we found in the Western Isles on our trip; and we considered was well worth the slightly higher than average cost. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    14
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
119
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a wonderful find this was for my friends and I when we visited Harris in July. Our stay with John and Marlene was short, but everything was perfect - from the welcome to the breakfasts, which were outstanding. This couple certainly know how to run a b&b! If you are planning a trip to Harris I would highly recommend a stay at Ceol na Mara. I hope that I will visit again.
Marjorie McL

Room Tip: If you are with friends having the top floor is a bonus as you have a sitting room to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having toured Scotland extensively over the last 50 years in our opinion there is no better place than the isle of Harris and above all Ceol Na mara Guest house.

Having not been there for a few years it was so heartening to receive such a warm and friendly welcome from the owners, the fact they remembered us from our last visit picking up on conversations we had enjoyed showed not only their professionalism but why they are in our opinion the finest Guest House we have been fortunate too visit.

The rooms spotless, the views worth waking up too, the lounge very comfortable, and the breakfast 5 Star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Ceol na Mara on the last night of our visit to Harris (and Lewis) and it was just as delightful and surprising as the rest of our stay.

Arriving in driving wind and rain, we received a warm welcome and our room was just as warm and inviting. The house itself is very old but has been completely renovated to provide a comfortable buffer to the weather. both the room and the bed were most comfy.

Our breakfast was absolutely delicious - though I'm glad I only had to drive five minutes onto the ferry after the sozzled raisins that accompanied my porridge!

The provision of a lounge for guests and the opportunity to browse through our hosts' books about the Islands was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlsgetaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay at John & Marlene's house. The house is extremely warm and full of nice details to make the guests feel comfortable and at home.
The room was nicely decorated and welcoming.
Both Marlene and John are wonderful hosts: very careful, attentive and full of attention.
The most amazing thing we found was the breakfast : a traditional however original meal with a mix of local scottish and international food.
We highly recommend this place if you want to have a great B&B experience with sincerely friendly hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Whilst touring the Hebrides we called in person at Ceol na Mara on the off chance there might be a double room available. We felt so fortunate to be able to take up a cancellation. Our only disappointment was we couldn't stay two nights. The twin room on the top floor had everything we needed and more. Lovely to have the choice of two guest lounges with lovely views over the loch. The breakfast was the best we had in the thirteen nights we were touring. Excellent choices and beautifully cooked. We will definitely recommend Ceol na Mara to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our family stayed at Ceol na Mara for three nights in mid August and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We stayed in the top floor bedrooms with exclusive use of the lounge in between, effectively giving us an apartment to ourselves. The rooms were exceptionally comfortable and cosy. The breakfasts were superb and our children especially enjoyed the porridge. John and Marlene were very helpful and hospitable hosts. And our children fell in love with Mollie the dog!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
462 reviews
9.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
43 reviews
22.3 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lathamor
#18 of 24 in Stornoway
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceol na Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceol na Mara Guest House

Property: Ceol na Mara Guest House
Address: 7 Direcleit, Tarbert HS3 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ceol na Mara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the privacy and seclusion of this recently re-furbished early 20th century Hebridean house set in 55 acres of unspoiled crofting land at the north end of the beautiful Isle of Harris in the Western Isles of Scotland. All rooms have spectacular views over Loch Kindebig, yet only a few minutes from the Ferry Terminal at Tarbert and many fine eating places. Enjoy a unique taste of the Hebrides at this top quality Guest House in the Isle of Harris. Centrally situated to allow easy access to all parts of Harris as well as Lewis. Residents lounges on each of the three floors. Two double en-suite rooms : One twin en-suite : One double with private facilities : Separate Dining Room. All rooms with sea view : silent fridge : complimentary dram : organic toiletries : flat screen TV & free wireless broadband : ipod / iphone docking station. Five star breakfast menu featuring the very best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ceol na Mara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceol Na Mara Guest House Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing