We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room 1 Living room 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Living room 1
Living room 2
Living room 3
Living room 4
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Kitchen view
Dining 1
Dining 2
Upper shower room - disabled access
Upper shower room
Blue Candle
Fluffy robe
Towel and soap
Welcome!
Garden
Suntrap deck overlooks the harbour
Attractive deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kam218
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The standard of this holiday cottage was excellent with meticulous attention to detail so that everything that you could need for a comfortable stay had been thought about. Extremely welcoming and friendly owners. The location is really well placed in Tarbert for exploring Harris and Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it really was all good
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We're coming back as soon as we can!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house is beautifully set-up. It is the most comfortable, well-equipped and cosy base from which to explore the magnificent island of Harris (and Lewis too). It was lovely to come back to Tigh Gorm after days out walking. We were lucky with some days of very fine weather and loved sitting out on the deck in the pretty garden too. When we first arrived John gave us some great advice about the island and all the fantastic places to visit and see. We wished we'd had much longer and are really looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexhM212...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could want”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent the first week of a two week trip to the Hebrides here and had a wonderful time. Tarbert itself is ideally positioned to tour around Harris and so we were able to do all the walks we had planned. The facilities are excellent - whenever we thought " it would be useful to have..." then we found it! Everything was clean, comfortable and very stylish - and we were warmly welcomed by John who even when to the trouble of lending me some gaiters - very kind. There is a good view of the harbour from both floors and we enjoyed watching the seal who came in looking for fish every evening. Facilities for cooking own food were excellent but there are also two good places to eat in Tarbert. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and thoughtfulness that had gone into design
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine K
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect hideaway for couple married at St Clement's Church, Rodel.”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked the Blue House for my son and his fiancée (now wife) who were getting married on the beautiful island of Harris. The owners Patricia and John could not have been more kind and helpful. The house is immaculate and has everything you could wish for, great attention to detail by John and Patricia. It is a perfect peaceful haven for a couple. The newly weds had a fantastic and relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshir...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Tigh Gorm .John the owner met us with a very warm welcome and gave us all the information that we needed to make our holiday very special.The house is immaculate and every need has been catered for.One could not wish for a more comfortable place to stay. Needless to say we will be back .Thanks John .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Harris”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from John when we arrived after a long days travelling. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Sadly the weather didn't allow us to enjoy the garden but didn't spoil our holiday. Highlights included Luskentyre and Northton where we saw eagles passing food.
We were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation and the attention to detail shown by the owners.
Road can become very busy at ferry times but you just need to be aware of that.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astmar
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tigh Gorm for 4 nights in October 2014. We were greeted by John, the owner at the door and were made very welcome. He explained everything clearly in the house and gave us plenty of ideas for days out and how to enjoy the local facilities.

The Blue House is perfect for two. It is spacious, modern and well equipped in every way. There are touches of luxury with good toiletries, bathrobes and comfortable furnishings.

The location is great as a base for exploring the Hebrides. We had a wonderful time staying there and even though we had horizontal rain and the hurricane Gonzales for two days, the house provided a warm and cozy shelter from the raging storm. On our last day we were able to enjoy the patio in partial sun and calm weather.

Tarbert has a a butcher selling excellent meat and groceries can be bought for everyday needs there.

Our only regret was having to leave a day early due to adverse weather forecast threatening our crossing to the mainland.

I would recommend Tigh Gorm to anyone looking for a comfortable, stylish base in the Hebrides.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing