We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wood paneled pub great for a quick bite and drink!”

Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Tarbert
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful wood paneled pub great for a quick bite and drink!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our ferry into Tarbert was late on a Saturday night, and most places to eat were closed. Harris Hotel was able to accommodate us with a little left-over food and a drink in a cosy but awesome dark wood pub, whose shelves were well-stocked with Scotland's whisky :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank voldenuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only visited here for dinner because places to eat on a Sunday are few and far between (we were staying in Leverborough). The Harris Hotel has an elegant dining room with friendly staff, and they found a table for us at short notice even though it was very busy.

I had the chicken stuffed with black pudding which was excellent; my wife had the roast beef; also very tasty. While waiting we saw some other lovely-looking dishes passing our table, any one of which we'd have been delighted to try. Our main course portions were very large so we couldn't manage any of the desserts, unfortunately.

We hope to return on our next trip to the Western Isles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank arandomname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verviers, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

One of the only opportunity to eat out on Harris on a sunday.
Choices of meat, shell and fish.
Price reasonnable between 16 and 23£ (something like that).
Nice choices of dessert too.
Too bad you can get a lot of wine from far away in the world but not a wide choice from europe...

I appreciate this restaurant but it was a little bit too fancy for me and my bunch of hiker friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chhose well and be rewarded by top-flight food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate twice here in late June. The first time we had to eat early as the restaurant was very busy, the next time we ate late. On both occasions the staff were welcoming and the service was good, if a bit brisk. But the food was very good indeed. We chose seafood (scallops) and lamb. Both dishes were perfectly cooked. The portions are large (especially the vegetables) and that helps after a cold and windy day out. The garden at the front is being lovingly restored to good order and if they get rid of the summer bedding plants right below the steps to the reception, it would be truly beautiful. They sell rather good tablet at reception (the Scottish version of fudge for those not in the know).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant on a wild island”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and rather high-end restaurant for food and atmosphere. Remember that you are on small island and not in a big city. To summurize The food was OK and a bit pricy. Good wine list!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbear83de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tarbert, Isle of Harris
Tarbert, Isle of Harris
 
Leverburgh, Isle of Harris
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Harris Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing