We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice central location for exploring Harris.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chris g
richmond
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice central location for exploring Harris.”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Dina (the owner) was excellant at communicating with us via email/ post, key/ info received in plenty of time, and phoned to welcome us on arrival.

The cottage was comfortable, well equipped. Located 3 miles along the Scalpey road, which soon gets pretty/ dramatic. Just down a very narrow lane from the road at the 2nd cattle grid- need to back in a passing place to turn before parking by cottage.
It has 3 double bedrooms- 2 upstairs- all beds were comfortable. Each room faces the same direction, onto the view of East Loch Tarbet (where the Uig ferry passes one of the larger islands, after Scalpey).
Everything worked, was clean/ tidy on arrival, no problems that we needed to report- however there were very minor issues- the kitchen fire alarm was a little oversensitive/ needed the fan on when using the cooker, a few of the wall heaters didn’t give off much heat (we were warm enough so not an issue for us; while others were easy to adjust), and after running a bath there was no more hot water until the next morning (we were perfectly happy with the shower instead).
We were supplied with sufficient basic things- milk, orange juice, biscuits, tea bags/ coffee, washing-up stuff, toilettries, local maps/ info, books.
The internet is broadband via Plusnet (speed test showed 2-3mb/s- streaming could be a problem so download films, etc before going), rather than fibre. I could get a mobile signal, though no 4g (it was very fast when waiting for the ferry in Stornoway, but as expected for a fairly remote place in the uk). Never used TV- has sky box.
Outside there is grass/ garden around the cottage, tidy, though we didn’t use much. You can see another property down the hill nearer the sea (?1/4mile), which has a number of vehicles outside- we didn’t get any noise from it.

Glen Carragrich was a perfect base for myself and 2 children to explore Harris. Somewhere near Tarbert is best if you want to be central for exploring on Harris due to the limited number of roads and even the central road is partly single track when you go south. Tarbert has enough in the way of shops to supply your needs for the week- we used AD Munro store for our groceries, preferring to help local economy (though we did see a Tesco’s van going round)- nb stock seems to come in at varying times of the day (bread seemed best in the morning, other things seemed to arrive later morning, meat often later in afternoon).
It has a lovely little trackless scramble up rock/ scrub to a number of bluffs below the main ridge with views over East Loch Tarbert and through to the West loch as well- in good weather you can see the mainland, Skye, and north Uist, and an island in the distance to the west on a clear day- all with cairns on top- across the Scalpey road. Pretty lochen behind (nb fence on the east end of it). You can continue on to the Reinigeadal track if good at orienteering- beautiful walk over there- we did a 5 hr loop to Harris walkway north via a b-road.
Scalpey lighthouse is a short drive away, rather delapidated, but has an earlier version below the usual white/ red one- a nice early morning walk.
The nearest white sand beach we went to was at Luskentyre- very beautiful/ dramatic, best beach we went to (there are many)- 20-30mins drive south-west. It was even warm enough twice to swim- seals came to see what we were the second time (nb-we stayed in the shallows, not knowing if there were any currents further out).
I also enjoyed visiting the Eagle observatory, Huisinis to Gathadalls beaches walk, Macleod’s stone, and Ceapathal hill walk. We also did the longer Callinish Stone circle/ Dun Galloway/ Blackhouse village drive- worth seeing though less enjoyable. If we had more time we would have gone on a boat trip and taken the ferry to North Uist/ Benbecula.
Harris is breathtaking when clear. Lewis less so.
We used Uig- Tarbert ferry to get there and returned via Stornaway-Ullapool for a different route home (initially via Wester Ross coastal route). Both worth doing. Nb- ensure you book if driving and get there in plenty of time (on the Uig ferry the last couple of cars were parked at angles on the ferry due to lack of room and started to bash each other once we got going).

Overall we were very happy with our week there and am happy to recommend this cottage to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelicityO
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here in mid - July and were very happy with the experience. The weather was pretty mixed and having a cottage so ideally located near Tarbert meant all Harris and Lewis felt in striking distance. And what gorgeous landscape it is. An incredible view at every turn of the road.

Dina went out of her way to make sure we were ok. The cottage was spotless and well loved. And well equipped and very spacious for family of 5. We had a wee bit of trouble with hot water in evenings, but perhaps because we trying to bathe wee ones and do supper dishes on a single tank of hot water.

Small niggle though, it really is a great place and we hope to be back. Hopefully with a bit more sunshine!

Tips- buy Harris gin; wow! and there is somewhere open on a Sunday, despite what folk say- the fab Temple cafe at Northton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M7091XYbo...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday rental”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is an absolutely wonderful place from which to explore Harris, especially South Harris. The property is very well maintained and equipped, with a great view to the sea. Tarbert is a short drive away, and there are plenty of superb walks close by. The owner is extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexuchoa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect in every detail”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay in Glen Carragrich could not be better and the cottage suparss all our needs.

It has 3 large bedroms, a complete kitchen, a nice and confortable living room, a reading room with a fantastic view for the sea.

All the equipments in the kitchen are 5 five stars.

We loved the the delicacy of the owner (Dina) that leave for use some scotich biscuits and milk in the refrigerator.

The cottage is located 5km from the Tarbet, perfect for those that want to explore the Isle of Harris.

I recomend for all the people that want a relax and tranquil vacacion in Harris Island and don't dispense some confort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large bedrooms
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcg82
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couldn't have picked a better location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a week-long stay. Accommodation is in good location (hillwalking, beaches, sights) and very clean and spacious. Kitchen is very well equipped and milk and biscuits laid on for our arrival! Can’t fault the cottage or the whole Hebrides experience - it didn’t even rain! Many thanks to Dina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ThanxLond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at Glen Carragrich after a long journey to find a beautiful, spotless, comfortable cottage in a truly lovely setting. We had a warm welcome phone call to make sure we had everything we needed - which we did. Harris is one of our favourite places to visit; we will be back and would definitely choose to stay at Glen Carragrich again. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing