We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable Hebridean cottage in spectacular...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AMC332014
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable Hebridean cottage in spectacular rural setting”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely, comfortable cottage for our family of 4. Very well-equipped, within easy range of Tarbert. Quite central for Harris/Lewis. Quiet, peaceful setting. Saw eagles most days. Great for walking and wildlife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Storage heaters - hard to control timing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94misty97
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in peaceful location with everything you need.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived here for a week not knowing what to expect as it was our first time to the Isle of Harris, was not disappointed. Everything was spotless and had everything we needed and more. The telephone call from the owner when we got there was a nice touch as was the welcome pack. The cottage was like a tardis inside and plenty of room for us all to do our own thing of an evening without getting in each others way. Spent some nice times sat in the porch either reading or watching out over the water. Did enjoy watching a sheep finding his way into the garden in the mornings and going back out again!

Would definitely be back again and hopefully stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangB...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll come one day...”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We’re travelling Scotland for about twenty years and Glen Carragrich was the best kept cottage we ever had. The house is very comfortable and offers great views over East Loch Tarbert. The free Wi-Fi puts the cherry on the cake.
Dina the owner was always very caring and so was the lady who looks after the house.

The cottage is an ideal starting point for walks in the hills of North Harris. From the southern shores of Scalpay one can watch sea life like seals or submarines :-).
Tarbert with village shops, post office, ferry terminal and Tourist Information Centre is only a few miles away. Don’t miss the Tarbert Stores – it’s really picturesque.

When leaving by ferry from Tarbert we waved a last good-bye to the cottage hoping we’ll come back one day.

Marion & Wolfgang
Berlin, Germany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Sutton Banbury
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hbutler_1...
2 reviews
“Pleasant location, reasonably well equipped, but furniture very old fashioned”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a pleasant week in this cottage, which overlooks the sea. It was clean and fresh.

It is in a very isolated position, so it was good that the weather was mostly warm and sunny, so we were able to get out and enjoy the beautiful beaches on the other side of the island. The cottage has been in the family for 90years, I believe, and I would think that much of the furniture reflects this.
The kitchen is pleasant and roomy, but only having one bathroom, with the toilet in it, for a house that can accommodate 6 people is really not adequate.

Although the views are wonderful, there was very little outside seating - no patio, or anywhere where one could sit and shelter from the sun or the wind.

There was some very useful kitchen equipment, but when it came to serving or cooking meals, there was a distinct shortage of serving or cooking dishes.

The house was cold when we arrived, and there were no instructions on the use of the storage heaters, so it was difficult to regulate to temperature of the house.

We very much appreciated the biscuits and other 'welcome' gifts.

We were disappointed that there was nowhere in the house where one could catch the sunshine, which meant it was rather dull and uninviting on a sunny but cold day.

Overall, the facilities were adequate, and the house clean and well kept, but the accommodation and furnishings were not really what we would have wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the spacious kitchen
Liked least: Having only one bathroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate the time you have spent on it. Thank you for your positive remarks about location, the view, the kitchen,
the quality of the beds and cleanliness of the cottage. I shall reassess
the points you have raised.
As well as modern equipment and furnishings there are one or two older
pieces of furniture which I feel are in keeping with the character of the
cottage.
Since your visit I have added more cooking and serving dishes to the
kitchen. As well as the garden picnic table and benches there are additional
garden chairs stored in the cottage.
I am sorry that you had problems with the heating. If you had made me
aware of this when I contacted you on your first evening at the cottage I
could have explained all to you and would have done what I could to make sure
that you were comfortable. In future I shall ensure that visitors are
aware of operating instructions which are displayed at point of use and of the
location of the extra ones provided. It is very important to me that
visitors are comfortable and enjoy their stay at Glen Carragrich.
I am sorry that the cottage was not what you wanted and should be pleased
to welcome you if you decide to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing