We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay!”
Review of No 5

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No 5
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Roddie and Irena were absolutely fantastic hosts. The cottage is beautifully done up, with comfortable rooms and great kitchen facilities. With gorgeous views of the bay, we went sea kayaking, rented their cycles and they have fishing equipment too- all for the best value we'd found on our whole trip of the Hebrides.
Absolutely wonderful place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

we stayed in the bigger house and could not fault it! the house itself can sleep 16 yet there were only 8 of us so it was huge! fantastic house, beautiful views and everything you could need for a comfortable night! the only complaint we had was the showers were abitty on the slow side but apart from that, perfect and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmacdonald44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is great, we stayed in the older little cottage hostel with real fire, anchor on the wall and freshman guitar - nice... Great value as well and the the guys who run it couldn't be more helpful... We took the kayaks out to the wee otter islands for a picnic - didn't see any otters (loads of their poop though!), but saw some porpoise and seals - very nice...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannymccluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed i 4 bedded room, the room was OK, showers as well. Well equipped kitchen with real fire, very good location, friendly owner. Quite simple accommodation but for very reasonable price and in great surroundings. Just recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Beautiful locations with views across a peaceful little bay, and with equipment such as kayaks and bikes available for hire to help you explore the area. We stayed in the studio room to the side of the main house which was perfectly adequatley sized for two people staying for a couple of days, with a bedroom with sofa and TV, and seperate well-equipped kitchen area. Decent value for the quality of the accommodation, would recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had three nights here mid May 2012. Still cool so the real wood fire is very welcoming. Everything you need in a hostel, good shower , comfy bed , good cooking facilities. Great evening meals from Annette. Roddy is a genial host and source of local info. Well worth making as your base in Harris. Roddy has kayaks to hire out too and there is shop/ post office that sells (nearly ) everything just up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finbar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were there couple of days ago and enjoyed our stay. We spent two nights in this place. A perfect place to live near to ferry terminal and sea as well. Special thanks to Roddy who helped us while our Car broke out and made us comfortable during our first time 'Kayaking' tour.

Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
520 reviews
11.6 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#9 of 11 in Isle of Harris
49 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Harris Hotel
Harris Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tarbert
425 reviews
Show Prices

Been to No 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 5

Address: 5 Drinishader | Isle of Harris, Tarbert HS3 3DX, Scotland (Formerly Drinishader Bunkhouse)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tarbert
Price Range: $20 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N°5 offers hostel accommodation in the Cottage and more comfortable and spacious accommodation in the Croft House. We also offer sea/loch kayaking, fishing, walking. We have bikes for hire and also camping equipment for our "paddle & camp" island camp out activity. We also serve breakfast by request, you must book ahead. We are located by the sea, overlooking East Loch Tarbert and there is a great pier for fishing, swimming or launching your own craft. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
No 5 Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing