We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay”
Review of Hotel Hebrides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hebrides
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I decided to try this hotel as i had tried the Harris hotel earlier in the year and although it was nice, i felt it was dated, so am i pleased i did try this hotel!!
this used to look a bit tatty from the outside but since its been done up its a welcoming site, upon entering you notice how modern it is, this place is really modern and so would not look be out of place in a city.
the room itself was clean and tidy and staff were friendly, another advantage is the fact it was right beside the ferry i needed the next morning so i could literally roll out of bed.
there are few things though, and it also had a great view of it

1. although there was a packed breakfast on offer i declined as i wanted a fry up on the boat, there could be an option where those travelling on the early ferry get offered a £5 discount to put towards there breakfast onboard the ship, iv seen this offered elsewhere
2. some of the items in the minibar could be reduced in price slightly

apart from that it was a great stay, it has been the most comfortable place iv stayed.

i was always put off by the price and to be honest it is still expensive although i would stay here again
i cannot comment on food as i never ate here at all as i had eaten before leaving stornoway

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumac1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hebrides
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an awesome hotel, right by the ferry to Skye. It has all the amenities you would expect and then some. It is exceptionally clean as well. Most of all the staff at this hotel are amazing and were extremely helpful!!!!!! Thank you so much for making our stay so special!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahj3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We dined here on a Tuesday evening in early August. We arrived in Tarbert in search of somewhere to eat and came upon the adjoining pub to this hotel. The manager saw us straightaway and advised that although the bar area was full, we could dine next door at the restaurant and eat from the bar menu. We were delighted with this and this exceeded our expectations. Thereafter, the food that we ate was delicious and the service was excellent too. Overall, we would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to any visitor to Tarbert.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Comfortable room, good shower, modern and comfortable, excellent soaps and shampoos from the Hebredian Soap company. Only point which was a pity is the poly cotton sheets - pure cotton is worth the slight extra cost.

Very good food at the restaurant, and good service - hotel staff overall were great.

Great base for some of the fabulous walks in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Before our return on the car ferry to the Isle of Skye my sister and I went for a meal in the hotel's bistro bar. We chose the haddock and chips. the meal was served up along with creamy tartare sauce, salad and peas. the fish was beatifully cooked in a thick crispy batter and the chip were done to perfection. the bistro was quite busy but despite that we did not have to wait for long and the attentive staff were courteous and helpful. the hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the ferry car parking terminal which was convenient. the bistro was also comfortable and clean. top marks to the staff because they were constantly asking us if everything was ok and did we wish anything else etc. and most of all they were smart and efficient. so i must say well done all round and a fantastic meal at a good affordable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's a shame that the owners didn't include sound proofing in the recent renovations as the noise from other rooms and doors banging in the corridors really spoil the otherwise lovely appeal of this hotel.

The rooms are nice and clean and have good amenities, and the food was of a high standard, well presented, by friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We arrived early ..around 9.00 looking or breakfast and somewhere dry before getting the ferry at 11.30 overto Skye.
Everywhere was shut and we ended up in this hotel bar. They did serve us a hot drink in the bar the floor of which was still wet from a clean up. "What can I have to eat"I asked. "Nothing" said the server!! So we finished our drinks hurriedly and left for the nearest tea room..then waited until ten before it was opened too by a very grumpy owner!!! Hmmmm!! Harris wake up!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
8.7 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
14.8 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glebe Barn
Glebe Barn
#3 of 4 in Isle of Eigg
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Erisort Inn
Loch Erisort Inn
#13 of 57 in Isle of Lewis
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hebrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hebrides

Address: Pier Road, Tarbert HS3 3DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: $217 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hebrides 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hebrides is a 4-star hotel with 21 quality, contemporary bedrooms which offer a high standard of quality combined with top notch technology. Every bedroom at the hotel is unique, laden with delightful considerate touches such as our range of luxury Highland Soap products which are made using natural produce from the Isle of Lewis, top quality pocket sprung mattresses and sumptuous thick bath sheets and robes for your added comfort. There is free Wi-Fi in every room, gourmet fully stocked mini-bars, Free-view TV and many deluxe rooms have iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hebrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebrides Hotel Tarbert
Hotel Hebrides Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing