We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Hebrides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hebrides
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel Hebrides is a quite nice hotel in Tarbert on the Isle of Harris. Unfortunately, our room was quite small and rather cramped for two people, but the the room was clean and well appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the shower was lovely. The hotel is located right by the water, and the view from our room was pleasant. The restaurant is excellent -- terrific menu and very good service. The only significant disappointment was the sandwiches which were packed for us by the hotel the day we took a boat to the Isle of Staffa. The hotel was unable to arrange any sort of real breakfast for us that morning, so we wound up with extremely disappointing sandwiches for both breakfast and lunch. We were given no choice in sandwiches, and several of us wound up with two sandwiches made with nothing more than rather tasteless bread and less than average grated cheese -- quite a let-down given the remarkable quality of meal the hotel restaurant is clearly capable of producing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 520 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very attractive website that lets you think all the rooms are lovely;so we booked a standard room just to find it is really tiny and lacks all the exciting designs.When we complained about it,the receptionist said we should have booked a luxury room,which was almost double the surface.She sounded quite used to that sort of remarks.The room was located at the back of the hotel,so there was a continuous loud noise from the restaurant kitchen steam pipe.A very disappointing experience,all the more so as we have been to lots of super nice design hotels.
To finish on a more optimistic note,breakfast is delicious.And do not forget to book for dinner,which was also very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front and do not forget to book the biiger rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgundian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely Hotel. Staff very friendly. Stopped there for a meal, unfortunately our order was missed and we had to wait almost an hour. Manager was very apologetic and they gave us meal for free. The meal was worth waiting for. Next night we decided to stay there before getting the ferry back to the mainland. The room was absolutely lovely and spotless. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We got last room available which was a deluxe room. on the corner. Very bright with good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossgiel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised with the Hotel Hebrides in Tarbert, Harris. It's been recently refurbished to a very high standard. Bedrooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Great bathroom with a fantastic power shower. The staff are excellent....very helpful and friendly. Excellent food in the bar and great entertainment from Willie Campbell. Breakfast choice was very comprehensive....I had full Scottish which was great!

If you're looking for a stylish contemporary hotel in Harris....THIS is the place to stay......highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank majikjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we had an excellent meal at this lovely restaurant, so friendly and efficient, and the food was perfect. A seafood platter filled with delicious goodies, and a chocolate dessert to die for! We'll definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the Hotel Hebrides so can't comment on that side of the experience. However, the seafood platter I had was - in my considered opinion - simply the best food I have ever had. I've eaten in many of Scotland's finest eateries and I can honestly say that NONE of them have bettered the quality of the seafood at Hotel Hebrides. Succulent (and enormous) hand dived scallops were sublime. The mussels were fresh and unctuous served in an incredible creamy broth The langoustines, crayfish, smoked fish, soused herring etc completely rocked.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LegalExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

camping on Harris last weekend and visited the hotel bar for lunch 2 days in a row. Food was delicious and very reasonable. Generous portions too. The very best thing about the hotel was the service. The staff were fantastic, helpful, welcoming without exception. The really made it a very nice place to eat and hang out. Free wi fi for said weary campers was also ideal.

We travelled with 3 children who were made to feel most welcome inthe bar for a meal.

Many thanks to all

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairecglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.2 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
21.7 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
24 reviews
8.7 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#9 of 11 in Isle of Harris
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
14.4 mi away
Loch Erisort Inn
Loch Erisort Inn
#12 of 52 in Isle of Lewis
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harris Hotel
Harris Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tarbert
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hebrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hebrides

Address: Pier Road, Tarbert HS3 3DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range: $233 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hebrides 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hebrides is a 4-star hotel with 21 quality, contemporary bedrooms which offer a high standard of quality combined with top notch technology. Every bedroom at the hotel is unique, laden with delightful considerate touches such as our range of luxury Highland Soap products which are made using natural produce from the Isle of Lewis, top quality pocket sprung mattresses and sumptuous thick bath sheets and robes for your added comfort. There is free Wi-Fi in every room, gourmet fully stocked mini-bars, Free-view TV and many deluxe rooms have iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hebrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebrides Hotel Tarbert
Hotel Hebrides Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing