We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hebrides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hebrides
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence
Stornoway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“1st Class Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped off here, as I do often on my way to play golf at Scarista, for lunch. Completely forgot about the size of the portions and ordered a starter and a main course. Like a fool I even had an eye on the dessert menu.
The lunch menu isn't extensive but there is something for everyone. Lots of variety, but be warned, be careful that your 'eye isn't bigger than your stomach'.
I had the spicy chicken wings which came with a side salad and a blue cheese sauce. I was intrigued...spicy chicken and blue cheese. It was wonderful, but very filling.
Fiona had the soup and roll which she described as wonderful.
For a 'main', I'd ordered the Burger roll which came with added bacon and cheese, a side order of wonderful fries and the obligatory salad.
The burger was huge, very tasty, and completely hit the spot...disappointingly there was no room for the Sticky Toffee Pudding. I am, after all, a finely tuned athlete!
Fiona had a massive Macaroni and Cheese. When she stopped drooling long enough to comment, I can only surmise it was completely to her satisfaction.
Food that keeps a table silent is hard to find anywhere.
You will be too busy appreciating to hold a conversation.
If you're looking for a decent spot of lunch in Tarbert...look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorrieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    148
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
67
210
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

A new addition since our last time in Harris. Enjoyed two excellent bar meals. Friendly service and good food. Fantastical large Children's portions from the Junior menu - which were clearly freshly cooked and not the reheated frozen offerings so readily passed off as as nutrition by many other establishments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We wanted a night on Harris en route to a family home on North Uist. We considered HH, the Harris Hotel and the Rodel Hotel. On calling the Rodel Hotel to ensure about pricing, a fairly abrupt person told me the hotel would be closed for the season by the time we arrived, which left a choice of two. And the HH wn our vote based on the stylish look of its rooms.

And we couldn't have chosen better. At checkin we were upgraded to a larger room as it was quiet and out of season. The room was smart, spacious, incredibly stylish and comfortable and with a view directly over the ferry pier, which is great if you live boats like I do! Room 210, for future reference.

Dinner in the bar was very tasty, with super staff making you feel very welcome and providing professional table service. It was popular with non residents too, which is always a good sign.

Wifi was free and we had a good signal, even in our room on the second floor and furthest away from reception.

Big fluffy towels and bathrobes, extra pillows in the cupboard and nice soaps etc made us feel nice and snug, and well looked after.

And breakfast in the morning was delicious. All in all, a super little hotel and we can't wait to stay again next year. We also did a 'drive by' of the Rodel Hotel on our tour of the island today, and whilst in a fab spot, it looked bland and unwelcoming from the outside. So we were very pleased with our decision...

Thanks to the team at HH for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level Contributor
215 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have seen that some people have waxed lyrical about the place and in comparison to some accomodation on Lewis and Harris I can understand why, however and it is a big however, it is really nothing that special.

A perfectly reasonable hotel but highly overpriced by mainland standards. The room we had was modern, clean and comfortable, the evening menu limited to the bar menu, the restaurant having closed earlier in the week, the food was pretty standard fare, not very exciting and instantly forgettable.

There is no car park but plenty of parking is available on the road outside the hotel or in a public car park opposite. In October Tarbert is not very busy, being little more than a village but I would suspect that parking may be more of a problem in the height of the season as it is a ferry port so many people will overnight here waiting for morning sailings. We had to leave by 7:30 for our crossing so well before breakfast service started and it would appear this is often the case as they were prepared with a form with ‘packed lunch’ options which they provided in lieu of breakfast, so full marks for this.

Overall a comfortable stay in a nice room and perfect for the purpose we needed it for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed here with tour groups I've led on a few occasions and it is one of the best hotels in the outer Hebrides. It has been newly renovated and that really shows. The staff though sometimes seemingly overworked, always try their best if there are any issues.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

23 of us - charity cyclists - had pre-booked breakfast for 1030, out first stopping off point of the day having left from Lochmaddy at 0530. Very welcoming staff and a very good breakfast in a lovely restaurant and fairly priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoganas, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came to Tarbert without having made any reservations and stumbled across Hotel Hebrides. Lucky us! They had a couple of rooms free so we stayed there for 2 nights. The room was really great. If we ever come back to The Islands we will certainly stay there again. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and it was really good. Tarbert is also very well situated so you can use it as a base for drives around both South and North Harris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biirgitta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hebrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hebrides

Property: Hotel Hebrides
Address: Pier Road, Tarbert HS3 3DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hebrides 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hebrides is a 4-star hotel with 21 quality, contemporary bedrooms which offer a high standard of quality combined with top notch technology. Every bedroom at the hotel is unique, laden with delightful considerate touches such as our range of luxury Highland Soap products which are made using natural produce from the Isle of Lewis, top quality pocket sprung mattresses and sumptuous thick bath sheets and robes for your added comfort. There is free Wi-Fi in every room, gourmet fully stocked mini-bars, Free-view TV and many deluxe rooms have iPod docking stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Hebrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebrides Hotel Tarbert
Hotel Hebrides Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing