We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare”
Review of Ardhasaig House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardhasaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardhasaig House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardhasaig
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Do not waste a single penny on this rip off "hotel"
Room awful-old, wall paper falling off wall, rubbish electric shower, bed a disgrace with two big dips, smelled musty.
Food even worse. Katie thinks she is mitchilin starred chef. Rip off prices. Beef poorly cooked, scallops the same. Totally over priced. No atmosphere in dining room. No music just embarrassingly quiet. Katie did not react well to complaint. In fact, she told us to pay our bill and leave! At half 10 at night! We refused to pay for the room we had not slept in or the undercooked beef but still ended up parting with over £100 for rubbish food and a bottle of way overpriced wine.
This is NOT a four star hotel as described. It is your worst nightmare for anyone who likes a half decent hotel room and meal. Shocking behaviour off a hotel owner/chef. As another reviewer states, Madame Katie has not been to charm school... Or to cookery school.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jillyd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 days B&B in the Luskentyre area of Harris. Of the 5 nights we ate in Harris, we ate 4 nights at Katie McAskill's Ardhasaig House. We are still talking of the wonderful food and great hospitality that we received there. We elected to have 3 course dinners and Katie did us proud. One of main courses was a rack of Lamb with a herb crust and a post gravy. I have never tasted Lamb like it. Another was roasted monkfish wrapped in Parma ham with a lobster cream. A third was baked fillets of lemon sole with longustine and scallops in a vermouth sauce. The fourth main course was a superb local beef in a madeira sauce. Now ; I ask you, have you ever had food like that. All of her fish and sea food comes from a little red fishing boat about 200 yards away. You can't get it any fresher. Katie, herself, is a wonderful host. She has a simplicity about her that is refreshing. The restaurant is quite small but beautifully set out. The bar and wine list is good. Katie has rooms as well but we have not seen them. The waiting staff comprises of a brother and sister who are local and excellent.

Room Tip: I have not seen the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 297broncobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food and hospitality were wonderful. The stay was made very special by being the only dinners one evening. Katie cooked just for us. We were asked what we would like at breakfast. Seafood was just superb. The location was superb and Katie shared the history of the building and location with us.
We stayed for 2 nights and were made to feel special. Superb food and hospitality, comfort and style in a beautiful place. Happy to pay for terrific quality!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fiffy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had dinner at Ardhasig House for my mum's 83rd birthday. 5 of us in all including our daughter and her boyfriend. Food was great, particularly the scallops, which tasted of the sea, and the rack of lamb, which tasted fresh, clean and was very tender. Katie doesn't get her effects with lots of salt, as quite a few restaurants do. Good, fresh, local ingredients and skilled cooking. Wasn't a great evening weatherwise, so we didn't get the value of the view from the great setting, but everyone was very welcoming, and we had a nice chat with Katie afterwards. A nice touch is that she builds the menu around your likes and dislikes, so our daughter and boyfriend, who don't like seafood, had something instead of the scallops. £48 per head is slightly pricey, but it was a special occasion and it was very good.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Everything about Ardhasaig House was excellent and Katie made us (with our 14 month old son) feel very welcome and at home. The evening dinner was absolutely outstanding and could beat most London restaurants. The breakfasts were fresh and cooked to order it was just a great place to stay on Harris that we will definitely go back to.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank ScottM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 7-8 July 2013. Beautiful location. Had booked standard double but given "THE BARN" which is self contained alongside main hotel. The view from our front window was beautiful especailly as the weather was great throughout.
Katie the owner is so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Her evening meal was absolutely delicious - local produce and the scallops especially were devine! Breakfast equally good and her porridge and home made oatcakes were even better than my Mums!
Would thoroughly recommend this small hotel to anyone. Katie deserves to do well. She works so hard and her welcome would encourage anyone to stay.
We'll definately be back Katie.
Many thanks
Ian& Fiona Cruickshank. Aberdeenshire. Scotland

Room Tip: The barn is wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionamarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed 1 night two couples .The Bed rooms were shabby .The evening meal was very expensive and no choice.To top it all a cat strolled around the dinning room while we were eating I doubt it has any star rating which it claims .on a good note the breakfast was very nice .The young waiters were very polite ,but saw nobody who was in charge . We were all exstreemly disapointed .We feel like we were ripped off .We would not recomend this hotel to anybody
We have never written a revue before so you can see how upset we were.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travel1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardhasaig
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
519 reviews
23.4 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#9 of 11 in Isle of Harris
49 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardhasaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardhasaig House

Address: Ardhasaig HS3 3AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Ardhasaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardhasaig
Price Range: $60 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ardhasaig House Hotel Ardhasaig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing