We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Islands experience”
Review of Ardhasaig House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardhasaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardhasaig House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardhasaig
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“True Islands experience”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great welcome, friendly, accommodating and peaceful. Good location.
Super food, just a little too much of it on occasion !! Could have stayed for longer, quite easily. Well worth the trip and would return at a moment's notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    27
    8
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
86
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have eaten at Ardhasaig many times, but Katie has excelled herself tonight with homemade soup, tartlet, beef filet and posh raspberry trifle. This hotel has a set four course meal - if you have a favourite, or something you dislike Katie adapts the menu accordingly. All homemade, loving prepared and presented with care. Beautiful views over the sea, watching the sun go down in the most relaxing and romantic venue in the Hebrides. What of the chocolate brownies? A treat with our coffee in the lounge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ctizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at Ardhasiag House on the Isle of Harris, where Katie MacAskill looks after visitors as she would family!
The house is really well set up and can handle a number of different combinations of visitors, either in the main house, or in the adjoining 'barn'!
The front rooms in the main house look out onto the bay of the Atlantic and across to the north, towards the mountains, rugged, wild and beautiful!
Katie puts on the most amazing breakfasts, with a simply huge selection of food, including, cereals, porridge, fruit, yoghurt, all sorts of combinations of cooked breakfasts, toast, tea or coffee!
Dinners were sumptuous - no other word for it! They were admittedly rather expensive at £40 per person (£48 per person if shellfish were on the menu) but they were simply all you could eat if you wanted to!
Evenings kicked off with canapes in the lounge at 1945, with dinner usually from 2000. There were four courses every night, always a soup, an intermediate course of fish or shellfish, a main course and wonderful desserts, followed by tea or coffee or something stronger, from the small bar in the lounge!
Katie also provided excellent afternoon teas, with tea and cake, if you were so inclined - and the bar tended to be open when you wanted it to be!
There were several young ladies helping Katie with the serving of meals and looking after the rooms and they were all very friendly, always ready to chat and tell you about the place. The house has a wonderful little conservatory on the front facing the bay and just to sit there, a million miles away from the rest of the world, was simply great - and afternoon tea made it even more attractive! You could also sit outside the front of the house and have tea if the weather was nice too!
There were sheep and lambs wandering around the land adjoining the property and just down the road, was a very friendly pig, that one could walk down the road and visit!
Not that it ever bothers us on vacation, but there was no television available, if you are that way inclined.
Although we benefited from excellent weather throughout our stay, there is plenty to see on not such nice days too!
It was all just simply fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay, as there is always something to watch, even it is just the weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I am wondering if the people who put a negative review on here stayed at the same place? My wife and I had a wonderful Valentine's Day getaway at Ardhasaig House, with all the finishing touches that keep bringing us back to this spot in Harris. Katie was the perfect hostess, and produced the most superb meal. I cannot recommend Ardhasaig House highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain_DStornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Just booked our 5th stay at Ardhasaig House - in 5 consecutive years - which speaks volumes regarding our high opinion of this excellent restaurant with rooms , which Katie has created. We just love staying in the annex Barn ,which is both tastefully appointed and spacious.Sitting outside it last year,enjoying the seaview, we were also lucky enough to enjoy the awesome spectacle of two eagles soaring overhead.Very special !

Katie , the owner / chef , is such a genuine and welcoming host ! Whilst the lovely meals she creates , are definitely one of the highlights of our now regular visits to this most beautiful Island.

Breakfast - Scotland ,its mainland and many of the Hebridean Islands , has been our holiday destination of choice for over 30 years. Yet we struggle to think of a place where we have been provided with a better breakfast than Ardhasaig House - with its delicious home-made treats using such fresh produce and all individually cooked to order , at a time chosen by us. Perfect !

Dinner - We really prefer the idea of Katie's set menu .Quality beats an unrealistic endless menu , any day! Katie willingly adapts the meal to suit our individual preferences ; such as the freshest ,most delicious, locally sourced seafood .Everything is cooked with such care and skill.Part of the pleasure , is glancing up and looking through the dining room window, at a glorious sunset over the sea.

At the end of our first visit , we knew that we had found somewhere special , to which we had to return. It is a unique place and the appeal has never faded , as we keep being drawn back ! We love this gem of a place ,into which Katie has poured her heart and soul - as well as considerable skills both as a host and chef . Looking forward to June 2012 !

Room Tip: The Barn -spacious and well appointed , with your own outside seating and parking [ ideal if , lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeflyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

VisitScotland (Scottish Tourist Board) advised me in July 2011 that this property had been withdrawn from the VisitScotland (star grading) Quality Assurance scheme. It no longer has a 4 star restaurant rating (it never had approval as a hotel). All VisitScotland/STB awards were supposed to have been removed from the premises and advertisements but the proprietor continues to mislead the public as they are still displayed on her web site.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MacCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We arrived a little early however we were warmly greeted and given all the information we needed to know. The room was very clean and well presented with some complimentary wine on offer. The shower was a nice surprise as we have found water pressure to be an issue in the Hebrides. Dinner, although a set menu was superb with fastidious service. The breakfasts were absolutely magnificent with all hot food cooked to order and a great range on offer. The host was very genuine and friendly and the we felt thoroughly relaxed throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cityhobgoblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardhasaig
2.6 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
462 reviews
23.4 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
151 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
19.4 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
17 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardhasaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardhasaig House

Property: Ardhasaig House
Address: Ardhasaig HS3 3AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Ardhasaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardhasaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ardhasaig House Hotel Ardhasaig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing