We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuil Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood House Hotel(Greshornish)
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$438
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gairloch Hotel(Gairloch)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
221
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgehome made cakesexcellent hostsisle of skyewaters edgeone nighton arrivalmade us feellittle extrasshort breadmini fridgestayed longerbreakfast was excellentideal place to staysweeping viewsevery afternoonpositive comments
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 228 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We choose this place due to is close proximity to the ferry port for Harris. What a find. Sue,Alex and of course Isla immediately made us feel welcome. It is comfortable with great views over the harbour. But most of all It's a place home from home. All you could ask for. Thank you. I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Highly recommend staying here as Alec and Sue will go out of their way to give you the best B&B experience. We stayed two nights in a comfortable room with fabulous views of Uig harbor. The bed was wonderful and the little extras such as biscuits with tea (kettle and teapot provided) made the windy, stormy nights that much more cozy.

Breakfasts were great! I had never had Scottish style porridge before and enjoyed it! We tried other goodies such as mushrooms on toast, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, fresh fruit and a selection of juices, coffee and tea. You will not go hungry here! I liked the idea of completing a form to select items to eat at breakfast -- that way you look forward to the morning meal.

In my opinion the hosts make the B&B experience and what makes this place a winner is that Alec and Sue genuinely care about their guests. They shared fun stories and educated us on the local area, gave us great recommendations for drives and spots to explore. Despite the wild weather, we were able to see the beautiful Trotternish peninsula, go south to Talisker distillery for a whisky tasting and tour, and take some stunning photographs of the isle.

We found out there are not too many options for dinner in the area. One night we brought salads and sandwiches and Sue provided plates for us to eat in the dining room. The other night we ended up at the Ferry Inn as everywhere else was booked or closed for the evening. You might want to plan ahead for dinner if you don't want to drive back to Portree for options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avid_traveler_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a very wet drive round Sky we arrived in Uig to a very warm welcome from Sue and Alex and the wee doggie. The rooms had glorious views out over the bay and were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and 10 year old Macallan whisky was drizzled on the porridge by Alex if you wanted it!! An excellent place to stay and very close to the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are lovely!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked Cuil Lodge after reading great reviews, we were not disappointed. Lovely location for this b & b right on the waters edge. Sue was away, but we were made to feel very welcome by Alex who supplied us with a fantastic breakfast the following day. The room had great views and was comfortable with everything we needed including wi fi, tv and alarm clock. Would we recommend or stay here again? Yes !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located down a small lane, directly on the water opposite Uig, this has to be one our finest experiences ever.

Stopping on the road above to take in the view, and to take pictures, we looked down below on the water front and wondered aloud to ourselves, "wonder if that's the Cuil House?". We were right and glad of it.

We drove up as a delivery was being made, and Susan asked to wait inside. When she finished, we were led to the Trotternish room (all rooms named after Isle of Skye peninsulas). The room was on the second floor with windows facing the water and Uig, and the side into the cove and hills. The views were spectacular. It did not hurt that we had an exceptionally good weather day.

It is a large room with double bed, TV, dresser, sitting area and chairs. Plenty of room to feel at home, and decorated as well, if not nicer, than the rest of the home. WiFi was provided. We could not have been more comfortable, and with good weather and open windows, all the better.

Bathroom was ample, with all necessities available, also a window to allow a refreshing breeze. Adjustable shower for those of varying sizes, and good pressure and hot water to boot.

Our hosts, Alex and Sue, were super. They know what they are doing, and provide good conversation. As posted in reviews before, the breakfast is exceptional. We started with porridge, and yes, I tried the very special McCallan drizzle. Start the day off correctly and it only gets better. Post porridge, I had the smoked haddock with poached eggs, and my wife the kippers and eggs. This was a great change up from the fine breakfasts experienced earlier in our trip.

The views from the location are wonderful. Watching the ferries come and go, the sun set over the water and hills provided many photo opportunities.

Regressing a bit... having arrived a bit earlier in the day of our stay, we inquired as to dining options. We were informed that mainly there were two. We ended up choosing The Ferry Inn, despite several reviews on Tripadvisor of questionable merit. It was fine for us. We started with an ale, served out front on the picnic tables. We then retreated inside for a very decent dinner, and then a few shots of local whisky (Talisker variations). We took one in the small Bistro bar by the window, then the second in the main bar. Service was good, food was good, whisky was better. Caught them at the right time.

Later, we took an evening drive up and around the peninsula to the Kilmuir graveyard, the ancient Soutterain, and the Duntulm castle ruins. The history of Flora MacDonald, buried in the Kilmuir graveyard, was of note to me as I grew up very close to where she moved to North Carolina before she moved back to Scotland. We passed one car in the two plus hours up and back. There is interesting history there and we also walked through sheep pastures to see some of it. The setting is amazing. Take the time to do so. We even had to shoo highland cattle off the single track road once or twice. Picture ops themselves btw.

Another highlight was meeting Isla, the true master of the property. We felt special being allowed to meet her by request, and she obliged by allowing us to rub her !

I can't say enough, but have said too much already. If you want the right spot in, near, or around Uig, this is it.

Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews