We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cuil Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Uig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

On our first ever trip to Scotland, we decided to stay for 6 nights at Cuil Lodge, and what a fantastic choice we made. Amazing location and Alec and Sue are just about the nicest hosts you could ever wish to meet. The house is beautiful and spotless, bedroom and en-suite excellent. The choice at breakfast is as good, if not better, than some of the more expensive hotels. Another very important member of the team is Isla, their ten year old spanial. Take her some biscuits, a friend for life !!!!!

A great holiday, we are already making plans to visit again next year.

Garry & Hania Lowe (The Netherlands)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
152
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sadly we only had one night at Cuil Lodge on our way back from Harris but would highly recommend it if you need to spend a night at Uig to catch the ferry or for a longer stay. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea, a very warm welcome and an excellent breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saw1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cuil Lodge offers a warm welcome after a long drive. We had a lovely, spacious room with absolutely stunning views, an excellent breakfast, and the property is only five minutes drive from the ferry terminal. Highly recommended for a one night stay or as a base for exploring the north of the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David and Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 3-5 June 2013.

Absolutely fantastic peaceful location with views to die for and situated right on the waters edge.
Great room, beautifully laid out, a good size and finished with those nice little extras which made it such a memorable stay.

Nothing was too much trouble to Alex & Sue who were excellent hosts always ready to give you
advice of what to see or where to go. Excellent hosts and a lovely warm caring couple who are
a credit to the Scottish Bed & Breakfast industry.
Breakfast was a delight and Alex keeps you entertained with his great sense of humor.
If you want the best Bed & Breakfast in Ulg...... look no further!

Selwyn D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Ilinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We truly enjoyed our experience at Cuil Lodge. It is a purpose built B&B and it shows as to the layout of the room/bath etc. Nothing is wedged in a little corner or a closet called a bathroom. The rooms were decorated very nicely and the view to the bay very scenic. It is a good location for exploring a good portion of Skye--Portree is only a short drive away. Sue and Alex provided us with all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. We did stay one more night near Armadale to have easy access to the ferry. If we return to Skye, we will certainly look to Cuil Lodge for our "home base".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only stayed one night at Cuil Lodge but thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation the hospitality the views and dribble of 10 YO McCallans on the morning porridge. A lovely location to base yourself in if you are exploring Skye and the owners Alex and Sue are excellent hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area and Scotland in general. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwilliammacphail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The bad bit is - we only had one night there.
The good bit is - everything else. We had a very enjoyable one night stay and cannot fault it. (We were on an early ferry). We normally stay in good quality hotels, but reading “trip adviser” we thought this B&B looked better than any local hotel.
We were right.
We visited one other local hotel for an evening meal and this told us we were at the right place. Fantastic views, spotlessly clean, nice owners.
Pity we only had one night there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uig
6.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
359 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
37.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
162 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuil Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuil Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cuil Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cuil Lodge Cuil, Uig IV51 9YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Uig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Uig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuil Lodge is a "Visit Scotland 4 Star" B&B located in the village of Uig on the Trotternish Peninsula of the Isle of Skye. All rooms have fantastic sea views over Uig Bay out on to Loch Snizort, ensuite shower rooms, tea/coffee making facilities in each room, silent fridges, modern flat secreen TVs with a variety of channels, plus complimentary Wi-Fi. Cuil Lodge is only a two minute drive to the ferry terminal serving the Isles of Harris and North Uist. Great views and sunsets. Modern comfortable rooms. Wide choice of breakfast options which are also available for those meeting early ferries or day trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuil Lodge Guest House Hotel Uig
Cuil Lodge Bed & Breakfast Uig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing