We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Skye!”
Review of Wild About Skye

Wild About Skye
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Struan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildlife watching on land and sea, led by a naturalist/guide/skipper, with 25 years’ experience of living on Skye. Max 6 people, no fixed itinerary, each day taken as it comes, dependant on what being seen, weather and tides. Transport and lunch provided. Walks, no longer than a "country mile" or two. Trips can be tailor made to find specific flora or fauna although no guarantees can be made!
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great day out with Peter, his knowledge is excellent, (able to tell birds from their call - would love to be able to do that!!!). As it was our first visit to Skye, Peter gave us several ideas of places to visit for the best birding. We had a lovely walk with him in the morning (even if it did rain!) and caught sight of an otter. The boat trip was excellent too. A really good day with lovely lunch - would thoughly recommend "Wild About Skye"!

Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Wild About Skye, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thanks Chris and Sue so glad you got so much out of your day despite the rain trying to dampen our spirits. I made a mistake,(yes me!) the Terns we photographed were Arctic not Common as I said, hope you got some good shots so you can see the difference, check the bill out first. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Wild About Skye
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

My mother and I were in Scotland for a 2 week trip - neither of us had been, and had always wanted to. We had been skittering about the country for over a week non-stop trying to see all we could, and when we made it to Skye, we were ready to take a breath and take in the stunning Skye scenery and wildlife. Pete was wonderful company. Deeply knowledgeable, friendly, and with a naturalist's gift for making it seem as though creatures popped up just for us =) He has been doing this for years, and was able to spot a pair of golden eagles on a cliff-top from a mile away without any equipment. Once he spotted them, he whipped out his scope, and we were able to feel like we were right there with them. In addition to the eagles, we saw seals, a peregrine falcon, and several special species of birds - for bird-watchers, this is a paradise and Pete is a great person to guide you through the landscape. We were out with him all day - he brought tea and sandwiches for our lunch which were delicious and which we enjoyed out the back of his car while looking out at the gorgeous scenery =). If you're visiting Skye and want someone to really unearth some of its hidden gifts, Pete is your guy! Also, we didn't have time to take it, but he runs boat tours too around the island which sounded fantastic.

Thanks so much, Pete!
-Adrienne & Marjorie

Thank Adrienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Wild About Skye, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Many thanks Adrienne so glad you and mum enjoyed yourselves, we were certainly lucky with the weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Peter was tireless in searching out the array of wildlife that Skye plays host to. An otter and a pair of golden eagles were the big two - but there was so much more, including red-throated divers, black guillemots, fulmars and four families of greylag geese with goslings.

Thank Vivien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Wild About Skye, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Many thanks Vivien, so glad we managed to bag an Otter for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Pete, our guide, was brilliant. As well as being very interesting, he was incredibly knowledgable about the local area and the wildlife of Skye. We were hoping to see otters in the wild during our week long stay on Skye. Pete had been our skipper on a boat trip earlier in the week, so we knew how good he was and that he would increase our chances dramatically, but we were under no illusions that there was a high chance that we wouldn't spot one. During our 4 hour walk we enjoyed following the fresh trails of otter activity, and a commentary of local history and wildlife. Much to our excitement, towards the end of the morning he spotted an otter in the sea! We watched it swim to the rocks and then enjoy a large dinner of fresh fish for the next half an hour, through binoculars. This certainly a highlight of our week on Skye!

Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E, Owner at Wild About Skye, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Many thanks Kathryn, sorry so long in replying just get the hang of trip advisor! hope all is going well in Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Maite F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Skye also viewed

 

Been to Wild About Skye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing