We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Struan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, England.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a great place to stay. Fantastic location with wonderful views, lovely walks straight from the Hotel, lovely clean rooms, gorgeous food, and Pam & Brian are friendly, helpful and convivial hosts. We've returned for several years now and we have never been disappointed, and if we go back to Skye next year we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr.Mole.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    32
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
17
169
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon and though the Lodge is far from cheap it is fantastic in terms of service, location and accomodation. Fairly formal dining but the food was exquisite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funster147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

After reading the entry which referred to Pam and Brian as not particularly friendly I felt compelled to write my own review. This was so different than our wonderful experience. We drove from Edinburgh to Struan (a long, incredibly beautiful drive) and we were greeted by Pam who offered us tea after showing us to our rooms. We stayed in the Johnson room and my daughters in the Bracadale. Both rooms offered amazing views and quite roomy accomodations. We stayed for four nights and I can tell you honestly that nobody asks more questions than my husband and both Pam and Brian were available to us and never hesitated to help us. They also provide written copies of fabulous walks that they have researched as well as other helpful materials. One morning while my husband was out walking looking for standing stones he came across Pam walking Chip (chocolate lab). When my girls heard about him they wanted to meet him and they spent some time watching his boundless energy. By the way you would never know there was a dog as he is not allowed in the inn - we just love dogs. We ate dinner in the restaurant several times as we found it delicious and relaxing after a long day of exploring. I loved the common room where you can meet other guests during tea or canapes before dinner. We also used the space to relax and read and play a boardgame one afternoon. I had never been to Scotland let alone the Isle of Skye and I can easily say that it is one of the most beautiful places on this earth and I would visit again and stay at the lodge in a heartbeat. In this connected world I know some people find it difficult to be unable to get internet access but frankly I found it refreshing - and even my girls managed (18 and 22)!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenacres3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

we stayed here for one night and ate in the restaurant. the food was wonderful - fresh, local, imaginative and beautifully presented; the room was fine. however i would say that the english owners of this establishment are rather cold and unwelcoming. they barely uttered three sentences to us, the entire space lacked atmosphere. on a final note, there was no internet access or daily newspapers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mexicanhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBHoward, Owner at Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the food. We do not accept that we are "cold and unwelcoming" Our guests are always offered complimentary Tea/Coffee upon arrival. As you were only here for one night and at a busy time of year it is not always possible to spend a lot of time with guests, albeit our friendly and professional staff are always on hand to look after you. Indeed, we have many repeat guests who would surely not return if this were the case!
Had you bothered to read the room information sheet, you would have seen that it is not possible for us to supply newspapers. We are in a remote part of Skye and there isn't a newsagent within 10 miles of our property.
Also, broadband does not work that well in this area either which is why we haven't yet subscribed to it.
PBHoward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Indulged ourselves, albeit only for diiner. Loved the food, the service and the location. They have their unique modus operandi which is to be applauded, and at times, giggled at. On the whole, a delightful, professional oufit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponchieandchoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Very romantic small hotel. the rooms are all decorated individually. We had a very lovely room with a large four poster bed. The rooms are rather small, which is to be expected from a historic building. The bathroom had a claw foot bathtub, so the whole mood is very romantic. Dinner is pricey but war very tasty. Breakfast includes several choices and is absolutely excellent. Service seemed a bit "british" at first, as we arrived from a long hike in rain clothes an boots. The check inn gave us a sort of eyebrow up look, that I dont really appreciate. Afterwards (in normal clothes) everything was ok.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Ullinish Country Lodge in mid-May. We were delighted with our stay here! Pam, our hostess, was very friendly and eager to please. After a long day of driving and sight-seeing, we checked into our room in the afternoon and given tea in the lounge. Imagine our surprised when we sat down to tea and saw she had thoughtfully provided soy milk for us -- we're both lactose-intolerant. It's amazing Pam remembered this from our reservation arrangements a year ago. We've been asked about dietary restrictions before at reservation time, but never has it been remembered. We've gotten used to dodging the dairy or using lactase enzymes if we really want something with dairy in it. But Pam and her excellent chef and waiting staff all took good care of us and served excellent food we enjoyed immensely. Obviously, it meant a lot since I'm writing an entire paragraph about it!

We had the Dr. Johnson room, which is comfortable, roomy and overlooks the water. The view was awesome. I prefer showers to tubs, especially for washing hair though.

We like the pre-dinner canapes and after-dinner drinks in the lounge for meeting fellow guests. It's great to meet new people along the way. We really enjoyed our stay here. Of our 13-day trip to Scotland, and staying in 8 places along the way, this place ties with the Glenmorangie House in hospitality, dining, and location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Struan
10.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
28.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
10.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
378 reviews
27.7 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel

Property: Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel
Address: Ullinish, Struan IV56 8FD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Struan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Struan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullinish Country Hotel Struan
Ullinish Country Lodge Hotel Isle Of Skye/Struan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing