We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome holiday😁”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea & mountain views from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea & mountain views from the cottage
Sea cliffs from the cottage back garden Cottage & garden (in March)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Sea & mountain views from the cottage
Sea cliffs from the cottage back garden
Cottage & garden (in March)
Recently fitted kitchen - view 1
Recently fitted kitchen - view 2
Plenty room for everyone round the table!
Relaxed dining room adjoining kitchen
Spacious sunny living room with sea and mountain views
Kingsize double room with sea and mountain views
Twin room (can be made up as double)
Single room
Recently fitted bathroom, shower over bath
Table tennis shed in garden grounds
Snow at Wild Orchid Cottage, December
The peaceful Ullinish Peninsula (and Wild Orchid Cottage)
Idyllic Coral Beach - near Dunvegan
Oronsay Island - you can walk there from the Cottage when the tide is out
Snow-dusted Macleods Tables from Ullinish
Wild Orchid Cottage garden at the back
Wild Orchid Cottage garden at the front
Autumn sun on 'The Hill Road' from Struan to Portree
Walking the Beinn Deargs from Sligachan
The magnificent Cuillin from the Cottage garden
Wintry looking Cuillin from Ullinish (December)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Struan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Derek A
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awesome holiday😁”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Really great location and house, cosy, warm and great to come home to after an awesome day out on the Cuillins. Our family 2 adults, 2 boys (10 & 15) and our 4 year old Alaskan Malamute got up Sgurr Alastair, Sgurr nan Gillean and Glamaig on separate days all with great views on top and brilliant winter conditions on the 2 Munroes. Also, great walks around the house which we loved. Must return, thank you Hazel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2018
You can have no idea how happy it makes me to hear when people have really enjoyed staying at Wild Orchid Cottage! You did amazingly well with the hill climbing (3 very serious mountains), and seemed to be fortunate with the weather most of the time. Please do come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwak1400
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Soooo chilled”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed there with friends for a "chill out" birthday weekend. Cottage is clean, comfy and well equipped. Views are stunning and the fenced in surrounding land is brilliant for the dogs. Rooms all good sizes including the really cosy lounge with fabulous wood burner. We had a power cut one night (area problem, not the cottage) but this just added to the cosyness and gave us a chance to check out the brilliant dark skies. If we had one tiny criticism it's that the larger of the two sofas is well past it's best and creaked badly as well as being really uncomfortable. Plenty of room on the other chairs so not a major issue. Still a five star stay - fantastic! And the dogs loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review! Good news .... we know the sofa is a bit wonky and it is in line to be replaced in the next few weeks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a very enjoyable time exploring the non-tourist parts of the island - despite the weather!! Our collie enjoyed trying to round up rabbits - totally unsuccessfully!!!, but it was her holiday as well. Thank-you Hazel for your kind and welcoming gift of wine, chocs and doggie treat. Very much appreciated. The cottage was very clean and welcoming, and would recommend it to other holidaymakers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad you all enjoyed your stay and were not put off by the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Enjoyable stay ”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Clean, comfortable and well equipped cottage. Lovely location, with glorious views. We very much enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the views - it is a fabulous spot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattlebe...
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Glorious Setting”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were fortunate enough most days to have a picture perfect view of the Cuillens from the living room and front bedroom windows as well as the wildflower strewn grasses and sweet cottages everywhere. What a treat to be able to walk to an actual island right from the front door! We were away from the popular tourist areas and enjoyed all the same lovely scenery and walks without the crowds in Ullinish..

The cottage was well equipped and accommodated our group of four adults very co fortably. Lots of room to cook, relax, and plan walks in the living room plus a nice dining room that seated six made our time inside very pleasant. The heaters worked very well and we needed them during the chilly weather we had at times during our stay. Lots of hot water for a soak in the tub after a long day out:)

Wine and chocolate were a nice welcome and the owner was responsive and easy to deal with making arrangements. All in all a lovely, well priced holiday cottage in a spectacular setting and we hope to come back again someday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, and I'm so glad you enjoyed staying in our beautiful wee corner of Skye. I hope you can come back again someday too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reb76
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, peace and quiet!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed in October, had great weather (for Skye!). Lovely cottage, spacious and warm, well equipped. Loved the log burner in the evening watching the amazing view of the Cuillins and the sea from the lounge window. Dog loved it too! Great walk for him down the footpath to the beach every morning, and he enjoyed running around the enclosed large garden. Internet kept 10 year old son quiet in the evenings, but when he got bored of that, granny was made to play table tennis!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay and that the weather behaved nicely for you! love the table tennis comment! Thanks for taking the time to review, it really helps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren O
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We recently had the most lovely 2 night stay at the cottage. It was really well equipped and had everything we needed for a nice, relaxed trip. It was superb for our young dog's first stay away from home as well, the treat that was left for him was a lovely thought and its a massive bonus to have such a nice big garden too! Will definitely be back, 10/10!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We love dogs, and try to make their stay special too! Please do come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing