We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and welcoming”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mags
Nontron, France
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked the Old Mill for a the Christmas week. It was all we hoped for. Warm cosy and beautifully appointed. Two en-suite bedrooms, a large well equipped kitchen diner and a cosy lounge with WiFi, Sky TV, DVD player and a selection of up to date films, games (no cards but we got some at the village shop) and a couple of jigsaws.
The weather during our week was not too good and Skye and the NW of Scotland were lashed by Storm Barbara with high winds and heavy rain. It was so bad that sometimes the TV reception disappeared! The internet due to a lightning strike on the island was very patchy - not the fault of the owner!
There is a very well stocked village shop with good fresh local bread as well as everything you would need. Be warned that on Skye in the winter months the majority of cafes and restaurants close so don't go expecting to eat out a lot. Our nearest restaurants were in Portree which meant a 30 mile round trip drive in bad weather.
The owner Liz was charming and couldn't do enough for us - she even gave us the Christmas tree she had had in her classroom which really made the cottage seem very Christmassy.
Skye is bigger than we realised but we found that the OLD MILL was well located for various attractions such as the Old Man of Storr, The Quirang and Mealt Falls.
We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough it was all and more than we had expected. Thank you Liz.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemarie...
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more!”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Mill is a lovely cottage which although situated in the heart of Staffin,very near to a grocery shop and a restaurant is actually very private. It is in an ideal place for anyone who wants to explore the beautiful Isle of Skye. Everywhere on the Isle can be reached by road quite easily and many of Skye's premier attractions are very near to Staffin. The cottage itself is clean and comfortable and because of its location offers some spectacular views. The only problem you might have is not wanting to leave at the end of your holiday.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzie491...
Cavan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week that had sunshine every day except one. The cottage is in the village of Staffin in the NE of the island. The views are amazing all around. It is very well presented & laid out. Everything we needed was here, unfortunately or should that be fortunately we did not get to use the woodburner as the weather was too hot.
The downstairs is very well laid out & very nicely furnished. Upstairs 2 ensuite bedrooms both with excellent showers.
There is sky tv & good broadband, DVD's, books & boardgames.
Would not hesitate to recommend this cottage. It was also reasonably priced & we enjoyed our stay very much.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay at The Old Mill, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is great to hear that you had everything you needed to hand there, as well as being able to enjoy those views from all around! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners and hope that you return for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Mar...
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Old Mill... it was a beautiful home from home. The owners were lovely and left us some beautiful home baked shortbread and were very helpful, when after a huge storm, the Sky dish blew down. If we ever return to Skye we would definitely return to the Old Mill as it is perfectly placed for exploring the amazing island!

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
It is fabulous to hear that you had a great holiday at The Old Mill, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! It sounds like you have found yourselves a home from home in Skye - excellent! We certainly hope to see you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan S
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Tardis - a complete little gem of a place”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage is incredibly comfortable and felt like home from the outset. We loved the views and the proximity to such fabulous landscape. The sound of the river running by was a wonderful backdrop. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting by thhe log fire, gazing at the mountains
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing