We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loch Mealt View, The place to be in Skye”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Loch Mealt View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Staffin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Maija861
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average experience at Loch Mealt View”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights at Loch Mealt View with a group of 5 adults. The cottage was warm, clean and well equipped. The location is a huge plus - its very well situated for some of the most scenic walks on Skye. The cottage is not very big but we were out every day so didn't need more space - if you are planning to spend more time at the house with more than 2 people then it might easily start to feel a bit cramped.

However, we did have a few issues with the cottage. Upon arrival there was a distinct damp/mould smell in the house - we had to keep several windows open whenever we were there to air it out. None of us had a reaction to the damp but I would like to warn anyone who is sensitive to such smells about this. We found it quite unpleasant, especially upon arrival. We also didn't get hot water out of the kitchen tap all weekend. In addition, there is a much larger house literally right behind the cottage which isn't mentioned in the description - our stay was so short we weren't disturbed by this, but for anyone seeking privacy this may be an issue. There is no garden or outdoor seating area.

So all in all a well equipped little cottage and quite comfortable apart from a few unfortunate downsides, which for our group at least means that we would not rent this property again were we to return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and we're sorry to hear that you had a couple of issues. We take all feedback seriously, without it we are unable to improve the service. We will be looking into resolving the issues. We hope you enjoyed Skye and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnce201...
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loch Mealt View, The place to be in Skye”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Loch Mealt View is set back from the main road approx. one mile. The bungalow is set against a background of mountain views. The bungalow is clean, well set out and has everything anyone would need to have a good relaxing holiday. Ideal for walkers. Staffin is nearby and supplies all your grocery needs. We had a great holiday and would recommend this property to anyone wishing for a holiday on Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and quietness
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: Midges on one drizzly day (not owners fault!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Odile V
Cestas, Aquitaine, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile531...
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissCam20...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing