We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dun Flodigarry Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood House Hotel(Greshornish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Portree Hotel(Portree)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
59
21
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
21
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of skyetables and chairshot wateramazing viewsfacilitiespots
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 91 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was a very busy weekend on Skye and this hostel was my last try in the North the other hostels were full. I'm so glad about it, when I arrived there and there was a free bunk.

But then I saw the possibility to pitch the tent. Perfect! I have my private room but the full facilities from the hostel, for only 9£:
Drying room, a huge kitchen, a cosy lounge, enough tables and chairs in the dining room. Stunning views from the dining room or when you sit in front of the house.
And of course the staff is very friendly.

This hostel is better then any camp site.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

been here years ago camping behind the house. Lovely location, very nice and helpful owner, great!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deufrabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Dun Flodigarry Hostel in June 2012 for a couple of days hillwalking. I'm glad I chose to stay here!
The hostel lies about 20 miles from Portree or 10 miles from Uig. Although it's far from being close to a town centre, it is a good mid-point between the main town of Portree and the ferry terminal at Uig, which serves North Uist and Harris. There are regular buses to both towns. Admittedly, I had the car so it's relative remoteness was not a problem, and is indeed one of its major advantages.
The hostel sits close to the coast, with a short walk down to the shoreline and boasts excellent views over to the dramatic Torridon mountains on the mainland.
The owners - Gavin and Annabelle - could not have made you feel more welcome, and are only too happy to have a blether and recommend things to see and do on Skye. They recommended that we walk the Trotternish ridge, by getting the bus to the Storr, and walking the ridge back to the hostel. Unfortunately after finding the peak of the Storr in the low cloud, we decided to return and get the bus back to Flodigarry, as it's no fun trying to navigate with about 30m visibility! The weather picked up later in the day and the Quiraing circuit is close by and offered an excellent walk. If I did not have to move on to other places I would have stayed for another couple of nights to complete the ridge walk and indeed relax with a great view over the sea!
The rooms and facilities in the hostel are of a high standard and kept spotlessly clean. There is plenty of room in the kitchen both for cooking and for storage of food. Essential foods etc. that you may have forgotten are available to buy from the reception. If you can't be bothered to cook then the Flodigarry Country House Hotel is practically next door, and offers a good bar menu, if a little expensive.
Overall, this hostel was a great little find, a comfy place to put your head down for the night for only £17. There is no shortage of hostels on Skye, but I would say that Dun Flodigarry goes well beyond the average standard.

Room Tip: If you don't fancy sharing in a dorm when it's busy, there are a few private rooms available so ask about these first.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fray_bentos91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Fantastic hostel situated in a magic location with views to Torridon on the mainland. Gavin & Annabel who run the place were very welcoming & informative. Huge kitchen with everything you could need, no getting under one another`s feet whilst cooking here. We camped outside & used the hostel facilities, but from what I saw the rooms looked good as well. Would recommend wholeheartedly & will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camasunary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. We had been camping for the last 2 days and wanted a day of comfort in a hostel. Gavin, the man who owns the hostel was very nice and can chat about anything and make you feel very welcome. The building is well kept and the kitchen is so big that 4 different groups of people can cook at the same time. It was quiet, the room was nice and the view was amazing. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place to stay. Price was fair and the hostel was well heated as well.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews