We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dun Flodigarry Hostel
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Dun Flodigarry Hostel in June 2012 for a couple of days hillwalking. I'm glad I chose to stay here!
The hostel lies about 20 miles from Portree or 10 miles from Uig. Although it's far from being close to a town centre, it is a good mid-point between the main town of Portree and the ferry terminal at Uig, which serves North Uist and Harris. There are regular buses to both towns. Admittedly, I had the car so it's relative remoteness was not a problem, and is indeed one of its major advantages.
The hostel sits close to the coast, with a short walk down to the shoreline and boasts excellent views over to the dramatic Torridon mountains on the mainland.
The owners - Gavin and Annabelle - could not have made you feel more welcome, and are only too happy to have a blether and recommend things to see and do on Skye. They recommended that we walk the Trotternish ridge, by getting the bus to the Storr, and walking the ridge back to the hostel. Unfortunately after finding the peak of the Storr in the low cloud, we decided to return and get the bus back to Flodigarry, as it's no fun trying to navigate with about 30m visibility! The weather picked up later in the day and the Quiraing circuit is close by and offered an excellent walk. If I did not have to move on to other places I would have stayed for another couple of nights to complete the ridge walk and indeed relax with a great view over the sea!
The rooms and facilities in the hostel are of a high standard and kept spotlessly clean. There is plenty of room in the kitchen both for cooking and for storage of food. Essential foods etc. that you may have forgotten are available to buy from the reception. If you can't be bothered to cook then the Flodigarry Country House Hotel is practically next door, and offers a good bar menu, if a little expensive.
Overall, this hostel was a great little find, a comfy place to put your head down for the night for only £17. There is no shortage of hostels on Skye, but I would say that Dun Flodigarry goes well beyond the average standard.

Room Tip: If you don't fancy sharing in a dorm when it's busy, there are a few private rooms available...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fray_bentos91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Dun Flodigarry Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Fantastic hostel situated in a magic location with views to Torridon on the mainland. Gavin & Annabel who run the place were very welcoming & informative. Huge kitchen with everything you could need, no getting under one another`s feet whilst cooking here. We camped outside & used the hostel facilities, but from what I saw the rooms looked good as well. Would recommend wholeheartedly & will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camasunary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. We had been camping for the last 2 days and wanted a day of comfort in a hostel. Gavin, the man who owns the hostel was very nice and can chat about anything and make you feel very welcome. The building is well kept and the kitchen is so big that 4 different groups of people can cook at the same time. It was quiet, the room was nice and the view was amazing. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place to stay. Price was fair and the hostel was well heated as well.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Bril accommodation ,comfortable, economic, friendly, clean, stacks of hot water, large kitchen and seating and meeting area, exceptional views.
Also exceedingly green with windmill power, heat exchangers what more could you want/need...
Bring in your own food and drink but Hotel next door if feeling flush.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was a wonderful hostel, easily one of the best I've stayed in. Staff were incredibly friendly, beyond helpful and very welcoming (Gavin gave our daughter some home made tablet on Easter Sunday as a gift, such a lovely thing to do). The hostel was warm, super clean, well equipped and a pleasure to stay in. The kitchen and dining area are huge, clean, equipped with everything you could need to cook and the views are again, stunning. Our room was small, very clean, warm and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The views from the hostel are beautiful, the location is secluded (but near some of Skye's best 'attractions'). I would recommend going to Loch Shianta (a five minute drive and one of the most beautiful places I saw in Skye), The Quiraing, you can see from the hostel and is well worth a drive and a walk. Definitely take a care, the weather is unpredictable and it makes life so much easier. Overall, one of the best places to stay on Skye, you will not find better for the price and to be honest you would be hard pushed to find better at double the price. We will always stay there when we visit Skye from now on.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floors for a stunning view but if not available, all the common rooms h...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing landscape, great location, beautiful kitchen and dining room and very clean rooms! The hostel is really peaceful and the owner was very kind and friendly. He even gave us directions and recommended places to visit in skye!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troya1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Having been to Skye on numerous occasions and having stopped at several hostels, this hoster is like living at the Ritz. It is situated with a panoramic view of the mainland looking towards Torridon and the Applecross peninsula. View is breathtaking.
Lounge, Kitchen / Eating area, Showers and Twin Room were immaculate and clean.
Both Gavin and Annabelle who own / run the hostel cannot be more helpful, even to the point where they have fresh eggs produced on site by their clutch of chickens daily.
If your looking for cheap, clean and friendly accomodation this is the place to be, its fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cheewy1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
0.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Flodigarry Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Flodigarry Hostel

Address: Staffin IV51 9HZ, Scotland (Formerly Dun Flodigarry)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Staffin
Price Range: $96 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dun Flodigarry Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dun Flodigarry Hostel Staffin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing