We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely, Charming!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staffin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband & I, and our daughter and her fiance' stayed here one night on the Isle of Skye. An Cnoc is a charming, modern and immaculate B&B!! I felt like I had come home. Diane, John and their precious daughter, Molly, were absolutely fantastic hosts, and welcomed us like long-lost family!! The breakfast was delicious, and the accommodations were exactly what we needed after driving for hours around the Highlands. It was absolutely charming, when you stepped out their front door, we were surrounded by the most amazing views of the mountains, and pastures of sheep.....something out of a movie! I wish we could have stayed longer than one night, but will go back on our next visit to Isle of Skye! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griblingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

A friend and I stayed here in May 2012 and I certainly wouldn't hesitate to go back! The B&B was charming, modern and clean with a stunning view out to sea. I really enjoyed the stay overall, but would have preferred to have an ensuite - regardless, there are few places where this wouldn't be a barrier to going back and it certainly wouldn't stop me revisiting An Cnoc! Diane was a great host and I enjoyed a wonderful and leisurely breakfast before heading off to explore. Will definitely be back when I revisit Skye.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We (my 21 year old daughter and I) enthusiastically recommend this wonderful Bed and Breakfast! We spent three nights in An Cnoc, Dianne's beautiful croft house in the midst of green and golden sheep fields near Staffin on the Isle of Skye!

Our room was lovely, with careful attention to details both in the upkeep of the house as well as the amenities provided. The room and house in general were very clean, and our room was diligently serviced and refreshed every day while we were out roaming the gorgeous countryside of Skye. It was extraordinarily easy to understand the usual Bed and Breakfast logistics (breakfast order and time, wifi code, etc.) due to Dianne's streamlined introduction upon our arrival. Dianne was very personable and humorous, and we enjoyed our daily morning conversations about local sites and attractions over breakfast. (We went on two hikes during our stay, for which Dianne, as a lifelong resident of Skye, had useful and applicable advice.) Speaking of breakfast, it was fantastic, with a plethora of selections to make both a vegetarian and a plain-foods eater deliriously happy.

The location is excellent, on the Trotternish Peninsula of Skye, close to some of the best scenery on the Island, including the Quiraing (majestic Lord-of-the-Rings-esque hills with awesome rock formations), the Old Man of Storr (165 foot tall monolith), Kilt Rock, and sweeping coastline.

Be sure to check out the hiking books in the entry foyer; the 40 Walks on Skye offers an array of spectacular hikes in the fantastic Isle of Skye!

We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you Dianne!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spotless and charming B&B. Our kids loved the surrounding sheeps and peacefulness of the place. It is indeed a bit remote but actually turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we otherwise would probably have missed the outstanding Staffin Bay. The whole family is very friendly and really make syou feel at home. The porridge was voted best ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed in An Cnoc B&B for two nights with my girlfriend and it was a great experience. I can confirm all other reviews - the rooms are very clean, the location is picturesque (surrounded by fields and sheep) and the breakfasts are delicious. The B&B is in the north of the island and we were worried at the beginning that it may be far from some sites, but actually it's a great base to explore the beautiful Trotternish region. The hosts have a variety of travel guides that can help you to plan your trips and get the most from the island. The breakfast was delicious - you can choose from variety of hot meals and there are also fresh fruits and a lot of other food. The en suite bathroom was very clean. The hosts were very nice and helpful. We had unforgettable vacation there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyKlaudyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A lovely B&B immaculately clean. Dianne was a great host and welcomed us into her lovely home. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Out trip was marred with car trouble and the weather wasn't great but all that was forgotten after a great nights rest in the lovely surroundings. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Once you meet Dianne you relax and feel welcomed into her lovely hebridean home.
Nothing is too much of a problem to meet the needs of her guests, in our case the use of a refrigerator was greatly valued.We regret our stay was short,we will look for an opportunity to return on another occasion.
As a native of Skye she can give first hand advise on what to do on Skye and where to eat out.

The rooms are bright and tastefully decorated.
Location is rural and so very peaceful.
I have no hesitation to recommend this special B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: There is a downstairs bedroom if you you have problems with a stair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hebrideanparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
13.2 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
12.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 97 in Portree
249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
490 reviews
14.6 mi away
Canowindra B&B
Canowindra B&B
#6 of 97 in Portree
140 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Maligar, Staffin IV51 9JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range: $39 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the small scenic crofting community of Staffin, An Cnoc Bed And Breakfast offers the perfect location for you to explore the breathtaking scenery the Isle Of Skye has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you into our home and hope to make your visit to our beautiful island one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast Staffin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing