We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”
Review of The Glenview

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staffin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenview
Ranked #2 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2010

It was only at the last minute that we booked this place, having messed up our travel arrangements, and thank goodness we did! This is a haven of loveliness, a B&B that oozes warmth and personality. Not only was the room and bed super comfy, and the owners and staff uber friendly (we felt like we 'd known them all our lives!), most surprising of all - the food was world glass gourmet incredible. From the evening's pea soup with wild garlic oil (and delicious wine) to the fresh kippers in the morning (and delicious decaff coffee - not easy, usually). Details like the vintage tea set in the room topped off what we can safely say was our best B&B experience ever - and we've been to a few. What a fab way to start our honeymoon. Thanks, Glenview, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubybauble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2010

We spent four nights at the Glenview in early May and loved everything about it. Kirsty and Simon are fabulous hosts, Simon's meals are memorable and it's a treat to have a 'wee blether' with the local staff. Already yearning for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndonTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Simon and Kirsty gave us a really warm welcome, and looked after us wonderfully well during our four day stay. The room was comfortable and the bed adequate. There’s a stable WiFi connection (which was important to me as I had to answer e-mails in the evenings).

What we will remember most of all is the food. We had planned to try out different places to eat, but after the first meal at Glenview, we knew it could not get any better than this! Simon makes absolutely everything himself – bread, jam, biscuits, sweets – and there’s a new delicious dinner menu every day. The food didn’t just taste great, it also had that fabulous aroma that you only get from completely fresh, local produce.

Simon is an exceptionally gifted chef. Simon and Kirsty should be proud of the establishment they have created, and it is good to see that they seem to be having the success they deserve.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwnerAthole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Just imagine; a three course dinner (plus an amuse bouche) as well cooked and presented as in any grand Michelin starred restaurant, made entirely with very local, very sustainable, and very fresh ingredients, served by very friendly people, in a dining room with an (albeit slight) sea view. Price £30
And afterward all you need do is climb the stairs to a beautifully simple all white bedroom with all mod cons except (praise be) a television.
Simon, who works away all day in the kitchen to create these nightly masterpieces, Kirsty who does the accommodation side, and their terrific staff, have created something exceptional in Glenview. Their biggest problem could be sustaining such a high standard when they grow, as assuredly they must.
In the meantime make the most of the opportunity for a truly memorable stay - or just a meal if you are staying elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We traveled through Scotland last fall and spent 2 nights at the Glenview. We enjoyed all of the B&B's that we stayed at but there was something special about this place. This was the perfect place to stay on Skye. Location was great - near many of the beautiful places to see, but still quiet. Our room was very nice - it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The owners were wonderful - they gave a new meaning to service. But the best part was the evening dinner. It was so nice to go out hiking all day and return in time to freshen up, enjoy wine while relaxing in the parlor area and then sit down to the best meals we had the entire trip. Simon is an amazing chef and the atmosphere in the dining room is lovely. Breakfast was also wonderful - almost too many choices. All fresh and delicious. This was a wonderful value and I hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbpc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Recently had a two night stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are some nice touches throughout this hotel. Our room was beautifully furnished. Food was excellent! I will say that our bed was a little small in length and the shower was electric which they could both upgrade maybe sometime in the future. But overall excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We went to the restaurant of the Glenview Hotel three times during our week on Skye. At each visit the food was fantastic and locally sourced and the service was friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
11.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
207 reviews
19.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
488 reviews
13 mi away
Canowindra B&B
Canowindra B&B
#6 of 97 in Portree
140 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#3 of 97 in Portree
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenview

Address: Culnacnoc, Staffin IV51 9JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Glenview Staffin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing