We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful home from home”
Review of The Glenview

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staffin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenview
Ranked #2 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Delightful home from home”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

If you want to stay somewhere extremely welcoming with excellent food and very comfortable accommodation then Glenview should be your first choice on the Isle of Skye.

We stayed here for 3 fantastic nights and couldn't have been better looked after. Kirsty and Simon, the owner-managers, are professional and extremely enthusiastic hosts and go that extra mile to make sure that you have everything you need for a great holiday.

Make sure you take advantage of the great food by booking in for dinner as well as bed and breakfast, as Simon produces outstanding meals.

We'll definitely be staying here again when we return to Skye.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
156
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2008

After a very long and bumpy ferry ride over from Harris/Uist we were made extremely welcome once we had finally arrived. Simon and Kirsty cant seem to do enough for you during your stay and are excellent hosts.

Do yourself a favour and have your meals in the hotel as they are delicious and are very well priced.

Have to say we were very pleased with the hotel overall and would highly recommend even if just stopping in past for the food. Just a pity the weather was so bad. Will definately be returning next year.

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jon19vtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We have just returned to South Africa, after spending four months in the UK. We were privileged enough to spend some time on the Isle of Skye. After searching the website we came up with The Glenview Hotel, we were so taken with the hospitality shown by both Kirsty and Simon. On entering their home you immediatily feel so welcome and part of the family. We were offered some refreshments on our arrival which were served to us in the lounge, which had a welcoming fireplace. As we were going to arrive late we took the dinner bed and breakfast option. The presentation and mouth watering meal served by chef Simon comes highly recommended. The bedroom was most comfortable with a personal touch of homemade fudge placed on you bed. We can recomend this to anyone who wants to curl up on the couch under a blanket with their book and relax in front of a very inviting fire. Do yourself a favour and have your meals at the Hotel ....(your new found home)!!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

What a wonderful place this was. Kristy and Simon treated us very well. The place was cozy, cute, clean and our room and bathroom was nice and big.
Simon's dinner was delicious and I liked that he used local produce and meat. We enjoyed hearty breakfasts.
The place was quiet and located near wonderful walking/biking/hiking trails. We only had 1 compliant. The mattress on the bed was needing a good upgrade. One could feel the springs biting into you at night. The bed was small too, so its a bit snug for 2 people.

Up the road in Staffin was a small place to buy groceries and we did some laundry there as well.

  • Liked — Location, Food, Owners
  • Disliked — The mattress
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ideas999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2008

An overall great experience. The lodging is very quaint, clean and well maintained. The food was fantastic, and clearly a major focus. Dinner had a few options to choose from, and between the two of us we sampled a few with great enjoyment. Kirsty & Simon are a delight, and always available to help, and very flexible around our schedule which had us in late, and out early for a dawn hike of the nearby Quiraing. They take clear pride in the inn, which I understand they only recently took over. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank PLBlake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at the Glenview for one night during a recent trip to Scotland. Kirsty and Simon were fantastic hosts. The room was great... very comfortable, with a fantastic view of the island. And the food was incredible. Our dinner was made almost entirely from locally sourced food and included some of the best seafood I've ever had. Everything about this hotel is designed with an eye toward eco-sustainability... without sacrificing comfort in the least. I would go back and stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — the food!
  • Disliked — can't think of anything we didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We visited The Glenview Hotel for two nights during our round trip in Scotland in August 2008 and this hotel was one of the best places we stayed during our trip!
The location was really great, stunning view to the ocean and only a few minutes drive away from the kilt rocks and the old man of storr - two fantastic sceneries of Isle of Skye.
Kirsty who runs the hotel is really friendly and helpful, and Simon who is the chef served some really delicious food. All of it with fresh ingredients and made from the start.
We heartly recommend this place for anyone who plans on visiting the wonderful Isle of Skye : )

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no TV
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tykke_fie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
11.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,055 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
388 reviews
33.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
178 reviews
10.6 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenview

Property: The Glenview
Address: Culnacnoc, Staffin IV51 9JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Glenview Staffin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing