We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, wonderful hosts, delicious food”
Review of The Glenview

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staffin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glenview
Ranked #1 of 12 Staffin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, wonderful hosts, delicious food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Glenview in June. Our hosts couldn’t be more welcoming. The location of the Glenview is absolutely lovely and a perfect spot from which to tour Skye. I immediately have to write about our breakfasts – they were heaven. Simon’s breakfasts were so fresh, so well done, from the fruit compote to the outstanding pancakes, his yummy jam and marmalade, everything was just fantastic. I have since come home and tried to replicate his pear compote and pancakes with rhubarb and strawberry topping. Dinner was just delicious, his seafood broth was outstanding and I could have eaten it every night for a month!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
153
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinner, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Kirsty and Simon were excellent hosts. The evening meals and the breakfasts were absolutely great. The dinner menu we found inventive and delicious - comparable to a Michelin star restaurant. We loved being able to start with a dozen fresh local oysters (only £16!) The accommodation was clean but we did have a problem with the sloping ceiling, which made it especially hard to stand up in parts of the bathroom - a problem if you are a tall man. Sorry to be critical but I did bump my head a number of times! If you do stay here there is a lovely footpath down to the shore (and on to Brother's Point) from just opposite the guest house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TF_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night here in June. Simon and Kirsty were very friendly hosts. Dinner and breakfast were good, rooms were well appointed (albeit shower was a little small) and the decor was interesting. Loved the tea cup chandelier. Location made for an easy drive to catch the ferry at Uig.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaBrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here overnight with our Australian friends - rather apt we thought as Simon is from Australia too! Loved all the quirky touches - the cups hanging from the ceiling in the dining room, starched linen napkins, quirky china, and best of all the knitting placed strategically in the bedrooms and public areas. I managed to finish a couple of rows and kept my hands away from the chocolate in the process!! Great meal, good wine and shortbread to die for! Breakfast - go for the Glenview Special, was sublime and kept me going for the best part of the day!

A mega thank you to Kirsty (who doesn't sound as if she is from Aberdeen!) and Simon for a quirky fun night. Definately one to go back to.

Room Tip: Take the rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champgagneguzzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. We enjoyed every moment of our stay here and were very well looked after by the owners and other staff. The rooms are comfortable and of 3* quality with no TV, but there is wifi available downstairs in the comfortable lounge. Breakfast was excellent and we also had an excellent dinner at the hotel on 2 out of 3 nights. This again was excellent and good value. There is a good wine list and wine is also available by the glass. In terms of it's location, the hotel is in the Trotternish peninsula in the north east of Skye about 30 minutes north of Portree and at least an hour from the Skye bridge. We found it an excellent place to be based, midway between the Old Man of Storr and the Quiarang. There is a footpath from the hotel down to the beach - a walk of 10 minutes. Otters can be seen in the stream alongside, although none were spotted during our stay. Overall would thoroughly recommend staying here, but bear in mind that the hotel is closed on Sunday and Monday, even during the high season.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are in a seperate extension and are very quiet. One is a double and the other a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Glenview hotel made the wonderful experience if Skye even better. We couldn't have had a better time, Simon and Kirsty were great hosts and made our stay special. The hotel is full of eclectic treasures, very comfortable and easy parking. Would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Skye to get away from it all and relax at Glenview, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Superb location set in a timeless scenery and vintage building just a few miles past the Storr. Very attentive and friendly staff from the second you cross the threshold and they take the coats, being Skye, you will have coats. A lovely homely warm lounge to order a drink and ponder what to eat, almost too comfortable to move from the fireside. Our table was in the front looking out over the sheep in the fields. The amouse bouche was unexpected and delicious. The food was excellent, full of flavour and textures. Nice range of drinks to accompany, I had a local red ale and she had a very good SA wine. We were so full we reluctantly turned down the offer of pudding, but it looked wonderful. All in all first class.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staffin
6.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
360 reviews
33.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
11.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenview

Property: The Glenview
Address: Culnacnoc, Staffin IV51 9JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Staffin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Glenview Staffin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing