We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sligachan
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveler rating
257
201
107
49
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
257
201
107
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar next door isle of skye fish and chips seamus bar historic hotel residents bar the pub cuillin mountains bar food scallops fantastic location beautiful scenery haggis fairy pools talisker distillery dining room stayed one night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being a wedding photographer myself with my husband we have stayed in a lot of hotels. Never in all of our stays all over the world have we had service that even came close to the kindness we received at the Sligachan. We spent five nights here for our own wedding with our family and wish we could have stayed a month. Every single detail was perfect. My husband has many food allergies and the head chef actually sat down with us and offered to help in any way he could, it meant the world and the food was delicious. The room was perfect, very comfortable, stylish and clean with a view unlike any other. The location of this hotel is where you want to be. Situated at the base of the Cuillins you can spend an entire week just hiking near the hotel with the helpful advice of the staff and their favorite spots. We left this hotel feeling like family and we will return time and time again, anytime we make it over to Scotland, it is worth the drive and we cannot wait to return.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank sarahlindengregson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Deirdre, Libby, Sarah, Beth, and everyone else at the Sligachan Hotel made our wedding week the most spectacular stay we've ever had. We're seasoned travelers, my wife and I, and we've never, ever, been treated better or had a better hotel stay than we had at the Sligachan. Every single need was catered to, every need met. They went above and beyond time and time again to make sure we all had what we needed, when we needed it. The service, the location, the comfort, everything was miles ahead of what we expected. This will be a place we return to every year, without fail. Also, the tattie scones were the best we had in the entire country, a small detail, but a worthy one of including. Seriously, if you're looking for the best service, the best location, the best place to just get away from it all and BE, this is it. Dip your face in the Sligachan River right outside, walk over the old bridge, disappear into the Cuillins for a day, find yourself home. Truly. Go. Now.

Room tip: If you can swing it, get the Pinnacle Suite! Worth Every Penny.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TylerKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a refurbished room which was lovely - clean and cosy. All the Staff were excellent with a particular mention for Libby at Reception was was probably one of the most pleasant front of house people we have come across for a while and we travel both in the UK and Abroad quite frequently. Libby made us feel particularly welcome as did the lady who served Breakfast. The food was fine. We went to Skye to visit some restuarants which have been on our list for a while but we are glad we visited as its reeally beautiful even if the Roads can be challening. Our only negative about the Hotel the Bthrooms could do with a shelf in the Bathroom and the Housekeeper wasn;'tt the best - she forgot to replace tea/coffee no teasponns didn't empty our bins and removed unfinished bottle of wine ! We would recommend the Hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

Expected a lot from this hotel, seeing as it was the most expensive one on our trip around Scotland. (Price is also thus because it is on the Isle of Skye, keep that in mind)

The rooms are nice (we had a new refurbished one) but quite small. With the luggage in the room we had to do some gymnastics to get through! The rooms does come with full blackout curtains, so for someone who like complete darkness at night that is a plus. On the other hand, our room was on the ground floor, featuring a large window straight next to the bed, facing the parking lot, so a sheer white curtain would have been nice so that you could sit in your room with some natural light. Bathroom was clean, but equally small.

The views outside the hotel are very nice, the road does somewhat obstruct the view and I think most rooms do have a view the begins with a car park and a road and then beyond that the great views. No complaints about noise during the night time from either.

Dinner was a bit confusing, as we had made reservations via email for ‘the restaurant’. Coming in to the hotel you see a large dining room to your right, but this is not the restaurant... the restaurant is through the bar, tucked in the back, very confusing! Seeing as the hotel is also right next to the seumas’ bar and seem to work very closely with them made it all the more confusing. The dinner we had was mediocre, the chef went a little crazy with the garlic and it had turned bitter...heard another table complain about the same thing. Service during dinner was fantastic.

Breakfast was good, but skip the scottish breakfast and go for their other options instead, which were delicious!

Staff is all very friendly and have nothing bad to say at all about them. When we checked in a bus of Americans had also seemingly just arrived but we were noticed a helped in no time.

Very good location! Only about 15 minutes away from things to do in the Isle of Skye (Portree, Talisker, Fairy pools,...), couldn’t be more excellent!

Sligachan hotel, be careful of letting your quality slip. The hotel is booked up most of the time it seems like, which creates a false sense that everything you’re doing is good. Don’t be afraid to keep assessing the workings of the hotel. Keep this in mind and the hotel will continue to be a big hit!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ello91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

We recently got married on the Isle of Skye and both my wife and I, along with our rather large family stayed in the Sligachan Hotel. It was amazing, the staff were incredibly helpful and so welcoming, they made our special day even more special. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews