We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location... Average mostly everything else” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sligachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sligachan Hotel
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location... Average mostly everything else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A mate of mine booked us two rooms for two nights here on the last weekend of August.

The road in and surrounding scenery is epic, but I was surprised to see our room rate was £100 per room / per night. Sure, I know it's remote, so I'm not expecting 'Boutique', but seemed a bit over the odds for the quality of the place.

The reception staff were friendly enough, but didnt really ask us if they could help with anything to improve our stay.

The rooms are pretty basic but clean - and the heating (which we needed on the 2nd day! - In August!) worked well and water was hot, if a bit difficult to mix effectively in the shower-mixer.

Breakfast's were fine - Cooked Highland Grill etc and set us up well for the day.

In the evenings we ended up eating in Seumas' Bar - It looked a bit basic from the outside, but we both really enjoyed the atmosphere and layout of the place - Although we both commented that the seats were a bit uncomfortable.

We ate local Scallops and Black-Pudding to start (which was great - if a little minimalistic!) then Fish'n'Chips which were good - but not spectacular. (Bought-in chips etc).

The beer was made onsite in a Micro-Brewery - I've only realised this afterwards... a shame as i'd have liked a mini tour! We 'tested' most of the selection... all good (and no hangover headache!) and they have an excellent Single Malt selection.

The bar staff were friendly and it was good to see a mix of nationalities eating and drinking there.

Finally, the photo's on the hotel website do make the place look a bit more special than it is - The main-road passes right in front - which is not an issue as it's hardly busy - but it does take something away from the view across the bridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    137
    82
    39
    22
See reviews for
96
182
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We went on a day trip to the isle of skye on Sunday and in our way pass we stopped in. We orderd 3 Sunday roast ment to be beef and it was venison. The veg was soft and horrible.
It was just a hobble meal and the service was crap.
I would never eat there again this was the worse meal ever
We didn't pay for the meal that is how bad it was
Be ok if you want a free meal

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmichael Perthshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went in Seamus bar - Avearge food and poor service was busy when we went in, they need more staff or to organise their staff a bit better in the end we went to the bar to order our food and drink we went a couple of times as they allowed us to take our dogs in so we didnt have to leave them in the car. to be fair when we first went in it was around 3.00 pm it was fine as they were quiet hence why we went back but were disapointed good points are they serve food all day allow dogs plenty of whisky to chose from great views

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the campsite across the road for a couple of nights at the end of August so I can't comment on the accommodation. We did go into Seamus's Bar a couple of times and had a bit of a mixed experience:
- the place is dog friendly which is a big plus point for us
- the selection of beers isn't too bad and the prices are reasonable
- we ate dinner one night and it was tasty, lovely scallops but we only got two each which seemed a bit stingy for the money
- breakfast was good value with very nice rolls for the bacon
- the big let down was the staff, some were friendly enough but others were down right surly and need some training in customer service, when a chap came to clear our table there was no "I hope you enjoyed your meal ..." but just a brusque "you done?" while he cleared the plates in double quick time

The location is lovely with a great view of the Cuillins and the food isn't bad but if you want a treat, a trip to one of the many seafood restaurants on the island might be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

So far I have been very impressed with the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room is fresh and clean, and has everything you might need. The walks and views from the hotel are fantastic. The food in the restaurant is lovely. What more could you ask for? I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a shame that the food in this hotel doesn't match its magnificent setting. We popped in to Seamus's Bar here for lunch and, although the place was almost empty, it took ages to be served and for the meals to arrive. My Cullen skink was nothing more than a few bits of potato and some flakes of fish swimming in hot milk. It was utterly inedible and, what's more, they have the nerve to charge £5.50 for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harmless_drudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

During our trip over to Skye I suggested we stopped off at the Cuillin micro-brewery. As an avid 'real ale' fan I thought it would be a good place to stop to educate my friends, who are new to the world of ales, in the art of brewing. However, when we entered the bar area and, after a long wait, eventually got served I asked the chap behind the bar whether we could have a quick look at the brewery itself he simply said 'No'. After this we ordered a pint each and took a look at the bar lounge (which was quite dull) and decided to sit in the pleasant beer garden (which had wonderful views of the local mountains. So, in reflection, the staff were quite abrupt but the beer and beer garden was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sligachan
17.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
8.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
17.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
16.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligachan Hotel

Property: Sligachan Hotel
Address: Sligachan IV47 8SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sligachan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sligachan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sligachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligachan Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing