We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would let my dog eat there”
Review of Sligachan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sligachan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We went on a day trip to the isle of skye on Sunday and in our way pass we stopped in. We orderd 3 Sunday roast ment to be beef and it was venison. The veg was soft and horrible.
It was just a hobble meal and the service was crap.
I would never eat there again this was the worse meal ever
We didn't pay for the meal that is how bad it was
Be ok if you want a free meal

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Sligachan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 488 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went in Seamus bar - Avearge food and poor service was busy when we went in, they need more staff or to organise their staff a bit better in the end we went to the bar to order our food and drink we went a couple of times as they allowed us to take our dogs in so we didnt have to leave them in the car. to be fair when we first went in it was around 3.00 pm it was fine as they were quiet hence why we went back but were disapointed good points are they serve food all day allow dogs plenty of whisky to chose from great views

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the campsite across the road for a couple of nights at the end of August so I can't comment on the accommodation. We did go into Seamus's Bar a couple of times and had a bit of a mixed experience:
- the place is dog friendly which is a big plus point for us
- the selection of beers isn't too bad and the prices are reasonable
- we ate dinner one night and it was tasty, lovely scallops but we only got two each which seemed a bit stingy for the money
- breakfast was good value with very nice rolls for the bacon
- the big let down was the staff, some were friendly enough but others were down right surly and need some training in customer service, when a chap came to clear our table there was no "I hope you enjoyed your meal ..." but just a brusque "you done?" while he cleared the plates in double quick time

The location is lovely with a great view of the Cuillins and the food isn't bad but if you want a treat, a trip to one of the many seafood restaurants on the island might be better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

So far I have been very impressed with the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room is fresh and clean, and has everything you might need. The walks and views from the hotel are fantastic. The food in the restaurant is lovely. What more could you ask for? I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foreva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a shame that the food in this hotel doesn't match its magnificent setting. We popped in to Seamus's Bar here for lunch and, although the place was almost empty, it took ages to be served and for the meals to arrive. My Cullen skink was nothing more than a few bits of potato and some flakes of fish swimming in hot milk. It was utterly inedible and, what's more, they have the nerve to charge £5.50 for it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank harmless_drudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

During our trip over to Skye I suggested we stopped off at the Cuillin micro-brewery. As an avid 'real ale' fan I thought it would be a good place to stop to educate my friends, who are new to the world of ales, in the art of brewing. However, when we entered the bar area and, after a long wait, eventually got served I asked the chap behind the bar whether we could have a quick look at the brewery itself he simply said 'No'. After this we ordered a pint each and took a look at the bar lounge (which was quite dull) and decided to sit in the pleasant beer garden (which had wonderful views of the local mountains. So, in reflection, the staff were quite abrupt but the beer and beer garden was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikingPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Sligachan used to be a fine old hotel with a rich history not least through its association with the early climbers in the Cuillin. It had a great atmosphere and was discreetly nestled at the base of the Cullin. It has now been turned into a brash, soulless chain-style pub of absolutely no distinction. The food in the bar is mediocre and the atmosphere non-existent. As is typical of so many such places the walls are decorated with sepia tinted photos of what the place used to be like before they wrecked it. A truly disappointing venue best avoided unless you want to experience tourist tat at its worst.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb1pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sligachan
8.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,070 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
402 reviews
12.5 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
461 reviews
5.7 mi away
Raasay House
Raasay House
#1 of 3 in Isle of Raasay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sligachan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sligachan Hotel

Address: A863 | Highlands, Sligachan IV47 8SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sligachan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sligachan
Price Range: $152 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sligachan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sligachan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sligachan Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing