We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPENSIVE and DISAPPOINTING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toravaig House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had been looking forward to this hotel considering all the advance plaudits but we were sadly disappointed. We found the atmosphere “hushed”, (except the music which was too loud in the dining room – right beside us) and a “bit stiff”. The bathroom was one of the smallest ever, one person only – at a squeeze. There was nowhere to leave your wash-bag, bar the floor. There was a tiny shelf above the basin (toothbrush only). There was a shower with a fixed head over the bath, great pressure, but nowhere was there a shower cap to save your hair getting inevitably wet
The choice at Dinner was quite limited – two starters and two main courses (1 fish and 1 meat).
Before dinner we looked for an aperitif, but the bar choice was poor and our whiskies came with two tiny bits of finger food; one a very salty ham concoction, the other I can only describe as a fishy bit of pannacotta (though nice) but neither really suitable as finger food – give me good old fashioned peanuts and crisps anytime.
With dinner came an “amuse bouche”; a teaspoon sized bit of herring on a large white plate – it simply looked ridiculous, (even M Bocuse of nouvelle cuisine fame would have blushed). This was followed by a crab starter which was frankly bland. Then Soup was followed by a game main course (on the tough side), then an extra, very prettily served, strawberry and cream dish and then the official dessert of rhubarb with panacotta and a lemon /lime mousse – the rhubarb was too tart and dry. The extra strawberry bit would have been enough. Why I hear you ask do I give you a blow by blow account of dinner? Well because all that cost £42 sterling (calculate it out in your own currency) and because there was cheese on the menu BUT at an extra charge of £4 and it didn’t specify if that price was for cheese additional to the dessert or for cheese instead of dessert.
This was also the only hotel that had no breakfast buffet, some may like that, but the staff seemed to have difficulty understanding that while I don’t want a warm breakfast I do like my muesli with fruit and yogurt all at the same time.
The grounds were somewhat bleak and a little unkempt.
This was an experience which will not to be repeated by us.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daveom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed for one night in early May as part of a two day walking trip to Skye. What a great hotel to return to after a long walk into the Cuillin mountains. Welcoming, friendly and a really high standard of food, hospitality and room quality.
Not only did we have the most wonderful weather over our two days, sunny, clear, no rain and 21 degrees on both days, but the hotel was also warm and the staff friendly and helpful. We had drinks served on the terrace after our walk, and a meal served in our room as we didn't want the full, formal dinner experience. It still gave us a chance to experience the cooking and presentation, and to savour the local scallops and other local specialities. Excellent standard.
Room was spacious, modern and very clean, with a lovely well laid-out bathroom, and we appreciated the black-out curtains which meant we were unaware of the dawn sunshine at 4.00 a.m and slept until nearly 9. Breakfast was excellent in choice as well as presentation, particularly the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, setting us up for another great day in a wonderful part of the Scottish west coast.
A great break experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for one night in this beautiful and elegant hotel. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished and well equipped. All staff members were friendly, attentive and welcoming making one feel immediately at ease. The icing on the cake however, was the superb evening meal we had – it was an experience in itself with every mouthful bursting with taste and unusual flavour combinations. Richard Massey, the chef clearly deserves his recent award. This was fine dining without the affectation and pomposity of similar meals we have experienced in the past.
Breakfast too, was superb with a good choice of cereals and fruit juice followed by coffee, toast and a varied selection of cooked dishes using local ingredients. We chose poached egg on smoked haddock – absolutely yummy, thank you.

Room Tip: We had a hillview room so, I'm sure the seaview rooms will be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in Toravaig House Hotel in Skye and would like to record our complete satisfaction with the warm welcome, the pleasant facilities and the wonderful restaurant. Richard Massey, the young chef produces some truly wonderful food showing a wonderful balance of presentation, quality and choice which gave us 2 memorable dinners. We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel especially the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which, while a bit on the small side, has a very comfortable bed an a sea view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We attended Toravaig for our dinner only and were not disappointed the staff were extremely welcoming and created a relaxed atmosphere, in very comfortable surroundings. We were treated to what can only be described as an gastronomical extravaganza in our evening meal by an extremely talented award winning chef. Many thanks to Sarah and Rosemary we shall return very soon... I hope!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a road trip in Scotland and had a fantastic stay. We were suppost to stay only for one night but decided to stay for three at this lovely familly runned hotel.

The room were very cosy, perhaps small but very cosy. The food was really amazing and I think we were eating for 4 hours every evening.

We went out sailing with the hotel owners for one day, it was really nice and recommended if you like sailing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Surely one of the most expensive mistakes I have made when booking a hotel, rooms small with noisy fan, intrusive staff, food average at best, sea view in the distance past the farm sheds, all in all very expensive for what is basically a 3 Star Guest House not a 4/5 Star Hotel

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
24.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
40.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
9.1 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
370 reviews
24.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toravaig House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toravaig House Hotel

Address: Knock Bay, Sleat IV44 8RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range: $200 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toravaig House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Boutique Hotel on The Isle of Skye, set in large garden enjoying fine views over the sea. Nine unique bedrooms - feature beds, Sky TV, telephone, en-suite bathrooms complete with fluffy bath towels and luxury toiletries. Mouthwatering menus created using fresh local produce, seafood, lamb, beef and venison. Intimate candle lit evenings relaxing by the fire in the cozy lounge enjoying fine wines and malt whiskeys. Exclusive sailing trips from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Toravaig House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toravaig House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing