We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, friendly staff and views to die for..”
Review of Flora MacDonald

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sleat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flora MacDonald
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Myself and my friend stayed at this backpackers hostel for several days. The views were outstanding and the staff very welcoming.. Peters knowledge of the island and Scottish history is outstanding! We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennybloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

This hostel is owned by a retired couple. The man was sleazy and openly flirted with my female 30 year old friend. The lady was so rude and unprofessional we had to leave. The dorms were allegedly single sex, and when 3 adult males were placed in the female dorm my friend and I were a little uncomfortable. When we flagged this up to the lady owner she said if we didn't like it we could leave. So we did. She also walked through the entire hostel with a lit cigarette in her hand. We will never return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I loved our stay with the Macdonalds! We took a full day tour of Skye with Peter as our guide. He was fantastic. The view of the hills of Knoydart across the Sound of Sleat are magical. It is a great location for touring Sleat, very close to Armandale Castle. We would love to return with our entire family someday in the future and continue searching for our Macdonald roots.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miaFairyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Situaded far from the road. A very uphill walk to the hostel. The path was quite muddy and wet. The noisy and small. The view was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pe0ple0nh0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Flora MacDonald Hostel is indeed a hostel. It's rather spare in some ways but was just right for us on this trip. If you'd like a tour of Skye, you can't do better than the hostel's owner, Peter MacDonald. Book now, since he may be retiring soon!

We had 8 people there in 3 bedrooms. There's one shower, which was fine since some people showered at night, and two toilet rooms, which made it very manageable. Nice kitchen, well-fitted out. You could not buy a better view than the one right out the front door, looking into the pony field, down the hill and across the beautiful bay. We often walked to the church at the bottom of the road and walked through the cemetery. Great great spot! Plus a washer and dryer up in the main hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJMPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We MacDonalds traveled to Skye to seek our heritage, and found it here. We secured the lodge portion of the hostel for our family, and had a grand time. We never tired of looking at the view from the hostel.

Invite Peter MacDonald, the owner, for a drink (he liked the Famous Grouse we had) and you will be in for a treat. Peter is a wonderful raconteur, and knows everything about his isle.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaMacD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank thedomest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sleat hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
5.1 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sleat
892 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thistles On Skye
Thistles On Skye
#2 of 4 in Sleat
10 reviews
4.1 mi away
Off the Hill B&B
Off the Hill B&B
#1 of 4 in Sleat
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora MacDonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora MacDonald

Address: The Glebe, Sleat IV44 8RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sleat
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Flora MacDonald Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing