We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed February 12, 2006

This is a nice inn but the owners do not follow through on their promises and they are also weird about payment. The hotel was prepaid and then they acted like we were deadbeats trying to excape without paying. Errors occur but it is hardly proper to jump on people before politely asking questions.

Helpful?
7 Thank pasiphae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    115
    45
    23
    12
See reviews for
81
278
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2005

We made it to Eilean Iarmain ------ on Skye before dark and had a little time to enjoy the sea air and walk around their extensive beautiful grounds. The whisky center next door was just closing up – they do tastings all day – but our rooms contained a little sampler bottle of whisky and the hotel has a bar.

We had rooms 2 and 3 on the second floor, with views of the water. We were very surprised that there were no showers in the nicely modern bathrooms (apparently not enough pressure for showers) though it made life a little difficult -lots of fluffy towels and nice robes. We were still extremely pleased by the excellent gourmet restaurant, comfortable surroundings, and efficient, friendly staff.

This is an enchanting place on a magical isle!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dorothy in NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, IL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2004

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2003. During our 8 days in Scotland, we stayed at different types of hotels: chains, castles, inns, etc. I believe people tour Scotland for the atmosphere, history, and scenery. On Isle of Skye, it is very laid back and so is this hotel. It seemed to be classic Scottish. Clean, decent sized room with bathroom is good working order. We found the food to be excellent, even though its not like you have a bunch of nearby places to choose from. This is not a party area. We met a variety of people from a variety of places, incomes etc. While we left our 8 month old at home this time, a couple was staying here who did have an 8 month old and they said the staff went out of their way to provide for them, including some fun spoons at dinnertime. It was very relaxing after spending the day at the quirang/Uig. The staff was professional and accomodating but not bothersome. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2004

Our second visit in about a year last week - so we like the place well enough. Our room again was a "suite" in a row of converted terraced cottages, bedroom upstairs, bathroom and sitting area downstairs. Safe negatiation at night from the first to the second requires either that you are stone cold sober or dead drunk.

One is more or less committed to dining there, and there's the rub. The bar is fine but the dining room was one of our poorer recent expeiences. One might know that, when Bread baked by the Chef is listed as the first course!...well, they are trying too hard. And so it proved. Six courses (incl Bread) and not a redeeming feature among them. What seemed like half the wine list was off. What wine was available did add its steep addition to the bill, of course, bringing the total to about £360 DBB for one night for two.

It is The Kinloch Lodge next time.

Helpful?
10 Thank Brackencuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Eilean Iarmain a few years ago. The location is scenic and placid, on a cove, near the Sound of Sleat. The water is very calm in this cove. Across the cove is a lighthouse with sheep grazing on it's grounds. The former home of Robert Louis Stevenson, we were told. The hotel's dining room serves superb, fresh fare every day. The staff is very friendly. When we visit the Hebrides, we will definitely plan on staying there, again.

Helpful?
5 Thank pdxflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2003

We stayed at Hotel Eilean several years ago, and had a lovely time. The Hotel is nestled in a small cove with great views of the sea and plenty of meadows around. After a busy week driving around mainland Scotland, this was a wonderfully quiet spot.

Our room was very comfortable and the sheepskin rugs on either side of the four poster bed were glorious to wake up and step out of bed on. In retrospect, I wish I'd purchased a few rugs myself to bring home! The food was very good and imagine our surprise to find an American server amongst the staff (she was there for the summer to learn Gaelic!) It was nice to hear a voice from home.

A still shares the grounds with the Hotel and the complimentary bottle from our room proved to be one of the best ones we'd tried.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and wished we'd had more time to laze about here. Our only complaint is the same as our praise - the hotel is off the beaten path and our tour of the isle made for a long day. But at the same time, it was a pleasure to return to the quietude of Hotel Eilean and sleep among the myths and legends of the area.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
36.8 mi away
Uig Hotel
Uig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uig
425 reviews
37.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
23.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
372 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
558 reviews
34.1 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eilean Iarmain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eilean Iarmain

Property: Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Address: Isle Ornsay Hotel, Sleat IV43 8QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eilean Iarmain 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional hotel, in an idyllic setting, with spectacular views across the sound of Sleat to the Knoydart Hills, retains it old-world charm giving each guest a truly genuine highland welcome from the moment you arrive. People have been coming here for over a hundred years, drawn by a love of Skye and its history, culture and language. The hotel is open all year enabling visitors to experience Skye in all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eilean Iarmain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eilean Iarmain Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing