We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled for 3 days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duisdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spoiled for 3 days”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife & I booked a short notice, 3 day break at the Duisdale at the end of Feb, with my brother and his wife joining us for the first 2 days. We upgrade the stay to a sea view room with 4 poster bed (room 1), a beatifully appointed room overlooking the sea and mountains beyond. Minor downsides were 1. The modern 4 poster bed is very noisy due to movement in the screwed joints. Turning over in bed during the night resulted in a loud creaking that woke you up. (I would recommend they undo the screws and rub with candlwax). 2. There was very little heat from the radiators. Fortunately they have installed an electrically heated panel in the wall next to the radiator and the weather during our stay was not too cold.
Overall, our stay was very enjoyable. We were made to feel most welcome from the moment we entered until our reluctant departure. Every member of staff was warm, friendly and attentive throughout our stay. The food was exceptional throughout each course, from the hors d'oeuvre, amuse-bouche, starter, velouté, main, pre-dessert & dessert. Portions were well balanced, ensuring that you were not too full to enjoy the next course. Throughout the three days we enjoyed a selection of locally sourced Scallops, Halbut, Salmon, Monkfish, Beef, Pork, Pidgeon, Venison all of which were exquisitly presented and extremely flavoursome.
Although a quite costly stay, I would thoroughly recommend the Duisdale and their excellent staff if you were seeking to spoil yourself for a few days.
Bill & Jackie H.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    145
    70
    45
    22
See reviews for
77
404
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

book this hotel as a last minute get away. the service we received was excellent without any fuss.
this is the perfect place to relax and treat yourself. The accommodation is excellent - especially room 11 which is designed so no matter were you are in the room you can enjoy the view over the Sound of Sleat. The food does not disappoint and the whole experience is relaxed and not fussy.

Room Tip: chose a front room facing room overlook the sea and relax and let the Duisdale team look after you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel in mid Ferbruary and as well a staying in a lovely holel, we were fortunate enough to get wall to wall sunshine. The staff were extremely nice and helpful in every way. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and unlike previous reviewers, we did not think that it was too expensive, given the quality and the overall experience. The hotel has been very tastefully furnished and decorated and felt very comfortable.
We had decided before we left that we will be coming back.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to either a garden or loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a lovely 1 night saturday stay at the Duisdale. The hotel is in a beautiful location just 30 mins from the Skye bridge The grounds are stunning and the view from the lounge is breathtaking. The rooms are ample size and equpted with all the usuals, hairdryer, fan, coffee facilities. The en suite is clean and large with nice calming decor and a great large headed shower, great for after those long walks. The rooms is clean and the beds are comfy. We had a room over looking the 'septic tank' and trust me it aint!!!!! if your not happy looking at the entrance to the kitchens and fire escape then pay for the stunning sea views. Or alternatively get up, leave your room and go and be by the sea! Why else are you in skye?
The only thing about the room are the red and black decor, i dont find the harsh colours calming after a day on the island when you want to unwind and fall asleep.
The staff are very polite and helpful and the hotel is stlish. Only fault is i couldnt get the wifi to work and the password i was given from staff was wrong and the communial computer didnt work either but a small thing really.
The dinner was fantastic but portions were smallish. Quality was superb. Breakfast on the other hand was also delicious with a wide choice and more to eat then expected. Never had a two course breakfast before.
Overall a fantastic wee stay but my one bit of advice, plan your dinner before you go as after 6pm out of season nothing is open if you dont want to pay £45 a head

Room Tip: pay for a sea view if you want to stay in doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Arranged an overnight stay for my husband's birthday. Exchanged some emails prior to arrival and found the staff very helpful in making the trip, albeit for just one night, special. It's a lovely hotel, in an old mansionhouse (so don't expect bog standard rectangular chain hotel rooms) with decadent decor (fabulous curtains!). We were upgraded to a fanastic room with a double ended bath :)

We went for dinner, bed and breakfast. Dinner was fine dining with starters, amuse bouche, main, palate cleanser/pre-desert, desert, petit fours (and then, in our case, birthday cake provided by the hotel). I'm sure I've missed a course there...we were very well fed. Breakfast also had a great range of options though i left out my "cold" course and dived in with a cooked breakfast.

It was a very wet and foggy weekend in Skye so we weren't out much, but a great meal and a pleasant stay really made the weekend.

I think some of the more negative views here are from people with a rather more citified, formulaic view of hotels.

Room Tip: Get the room with the double ended bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplecreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Duisdale House for Christmas Eve, Day and Boxing Day in their 'Garden Cottage', which was a small two-bedroom unit detached from the main hotel. Upon our arrival to the hotel we were also shown bedrooms in the main building, but our impression was that these were rather small and less private. The Garden Cottage was well-appointed, with a full kitchen, dining table and living area. You wouldn't call the cottage luxurious, but rather very comfortable and private. The furnishings and appointments in the main hotel are superior to the Garden Cottage, but without being overly fussy; the ambiance is well-suited to the pace of life on Skye. If you plan to use both Garden Cottage bedrooms, be advised that the second bed is actually a sofa-bed with a somewhat thin mattress.

We found the staff of the hotel very charming and helpful, and were particularly impressed with the waitstaff in the restaurant. The food was truly excellent; my only qualm was that the amuse-bouche, though delicious, was always some sort of veloute. Breakfast was equally good; the french toast being particularly notable. As we stayed over Christmas, the staff made an effort (without being pushy) to encourage guests to mingle in the lounge before dinner. We appreciated this effort, as we met a very interesting set of fellow guests.

Very enjoyable and comfortable overall, a superb location and attentive, engaging staff.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottage is very comfortable and private, even if detached from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awanless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If Hyacinth Bouquet ever opened a boutique hotel, it would probably look like this. The only really cool thing about the place was the heating: our room and bathroom were never even warm because the heating was mostly off and the radiators were tepid at best. The bed and the pillows felt cheap and hard. This kind of skimping runs through everything and leaves you feeling that you have been ripped off. The food is good but nowhere near good as good as it pretends to be and again the meanness shows through. For example, the cheeses are excellent but the portions extraordinarily small and do not remotely justify the £4 surcharge.

Yes, it is indeed in a great location and the staff are really excellent and helpful but at these prices, they really ought to get the simple basics right. It isn't difficult.

Finally, it pays to check your bill carefully.

Room Tip: Keep your eyes shut
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay_Doyle_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleat
36.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
38.9 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
33.4 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
162 reviews
7.0 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duisdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duisdale House Hotel

Property: Duisdale House Hotel
Address: Sleat | Isle of Skye, Sleat IV43 8QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sleat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sleat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duisdale House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Isle of Skye and enjoy an indulgent luxury break in the Highlands of Scotland at Duisdale House Hotel. Perfectly situated in the area known as Sleat on the southernmost tip of Skye, the hotel has been completely transformed into a chic boutique retreat in recent years, and the award winning restaurant and exclusive daily sailing trips on board our luxury yacht (from April to September) add a whole new dimension to a short break on the Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Duisdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duisdale House Hotel Isle Of Skye/Sleat, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing