We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sconser Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sconser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sconser Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Sconser B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Beyond Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I came to the Isle of Skye during our two week honeymoon, all the way from the United States, and found this wonderful gem on the internet prior to our vacation. The lodge is simply wonderful, the view we have is stunning (my wife having sat down in the chair and not move for an hour she was so smitten with it), the food was second to none, and the family which owns it are incredibly friendly and very helpful. They even concerned themselves that our time on the Isle was pleasant, engaging us in cconversation, and being very genuine. We loved it there, and hope to retun someday soon! I'm not one to write reviews, so take this as yet another indication that the Sconser Lodge is perfect in every way.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBrown081880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    44
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
99
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I spent two nights at Sconser Lodge in late April while on a road trip around Scotland with my mother and had a great experience which I would recommend to anyone who has an opportunity to travel to Skye. Craig and Lisa, the owners are very welcoming and made us feel part of the family which is something my mother really appreciated.

The location is spectacular with an absolute waterfront location and views across to Raasay. My room was large with good linen and a comfortable bed. We ate in the Inn both nights and had fantastic local food and great service. Craig does the cooking and runs a well-stocked bar which doubles as a local watering hole during summer. The Highlands breakfast I had the first morning was one of the best I've ever had at a B&B anywhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good. If you don't have a view of the Raasay you would have one of the hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a family run hotel, which was originally an old hunting lodge, so there is an abundance of character in each room. Lots of books and games and even a guitar for playing should the notion arise! There is a small dining room for breakfast and evening meals, to which we availed ourselves and which was very good.having decided on freshly cooked fish & chips. Not only chef, but Craig is a very good host and we were made feel most welcome. Would definitely recommend this hotel and obviously the rooms over looking the loch are magic. We had a room with a four poster bed so this is a good choice. Thank you for making our stay so memorable on our little Scotland road trip and thank you also for the Birthday G & T...:-)

Room Tip: Room Number 1 with four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was doing a Walkabout Scotland Tour and we spent our first 3 nights here and it's so nice and the lovely family running it are so nice. You're right on the beach and can look out while you eat dinner and breakfast. The food is to die for. Everything is fresh so my first taste of haggis was exceptional. Have the smoked haddock for breakfast, it just melts in your mouth. The rooms are nice and big and there is wifi for a £2 pound fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amysradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited over 3 years ago and we still talk and recommended to family and friends. Stunning hotel, amazing scenery, friendly staff, and the most mouth watering food I have ever tasted, will be back for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank weetoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We satyrs two nights in this wonderful property in the end of September, absolutely marvellous.
It is difficult to fault this place- lovely views!
Did not make use of the breakfast as left the inn very early on both mornings - but the inn was kind enough to pre lay a packaged breakfast for us.
We had a three year old and she too was happy
Full marks !

Room Tip: Take the suite room with the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for one night while doing a quick stopover on Skye, as part of a larger trip around Scotland. The most important thing for guests to understand is that staying on Skye, at this lodge, is a vivid experience: The raw beauty of the landscape is my favorite thing about Skye. In providing such hospitality, warmth and comfort in a place that felt so wild, the proprietors have truly accomplished something. We wish we'd had more time at the lodge!

In our one night there, Craig and Iona welcomed us, and showed us to our room. Later Lisa handled our aperitifs (whisky tasting under her guidance, next to a huge crackling wood fire) and our dinner. The meal was among the best we had during our whole 10 day trip in Scotland. I had a bowl of mussels (one of their specialties), which were surprisingly plump and tender, much more so that what I've usually been served elsewhere, and with a great sauce to boot. The dessert was berries with cream and Drambuie, a whisky-based liqueur which was new to us and a pleasant surprise. Breakfast the next morning was equally good and substantive (which was welcome given the amount of whisky we "tasted" the previous night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sconser
7.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
17.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
16.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sconser Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sconser Lodge Hotel

Property: Sconser Lodge Hotel
Address: Sconser IV48 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sconser
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sconser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sconser Hotel Sconser
Sconser Lodge Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing