We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Roskhill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roskhill House
Ranked #2 of 3 Roskhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed for one night at Rosskhill House with my brother whilst on a gastro tour of Scotland on motorbikes. Very welcoming and spotlessly clean throughout. Very comfortable beds, perfect after a long day on the bikes. Lovely touches in the lounge with homemade cake and lots of tea and coffee and access to wifi throughout. You have to have the bacon at breakfast. Delicious. Great quality accommodation throughout and the most helpful owners that really could not do enough for us. Will be booking to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
94
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Roskhill couldn’t be more adorable if it was Gir in his dog costume.
I made that Invader Zim joke for the sake of my girlfriend. The next one’s just for me: Roskhill is one of those rare landscapes that Rockwell painted. It’s quaint.
Quaint, look up synonyms and see what you get. Old-fashioned. Charming. Picturesque. Artful. Antique. Old world. They all apply. Weird? Curious? Off the beaten track? Yup, those to. Roskhill claims to be in Dunvegan though it’s actually outside of it, on its own road which you’d miss if you didn’t have SatNav. It entertains five rooms, all different configurations, and all up a staircases which felt like I was being passed through a sieve. There should be a sign outside of every B&B in Scotland: No Fatties. Each one I’ve been in has been a task to climb. The staircase leading up at Mayfield Lodge was barely two and a half feet across. I think Roskhill beats that with a mere two feet with a short roof. I hit my head twice. How did they even get furniture up here? Did they crane it through the roof? And although I appreciate a bathroom larger than phone booth, must the toilet feel like it’s been chilled to 20 degrees Kelvin? The only other big gripe is its WiFi. I know I should be grateful for having WiFi at all but the range at Roskhill is limited to the living area downstairs, right next to the dining area. It doesn’t reach our rooms.
And that’s where the criticisms stops…because Roskhill is actually one of the best B&B’s I’ve stayed at. All white, inside and out, it fits within the rustic (there I go with that word again) theme dominant across all of Skye. Parking is decent, probably aided by the fact we were the only ones staying at Roskhill this week. The singular owner greeted us and offered us the check sheet of what we did and didn’t want during breakfast. That in itself is worth the price of a room. I can see the B&B being rather tight when fully booked, but just the two of us, we felt right at home. I suppose you can call that a bias. The meal was amazing, with a generous spread of options both traditionally Scottish and traditionally English. We went full Scottish of course.
The rooms were very generous with a comfortable bed, a good sized TV we never used, and a table offering tea, coffee, and biscuits. With reasonable pricing, I can believe Roskhill would be rocking in the peak months. That being said, traveling in October or even November wouldn't be a bad idea. For one, the crowds have passed, and two, everything is cheaper.
It’s almost a shame that Roskhill is nestled so far out of the way, with most people I am imagining staying in Portree. Although that’s the eventual plan for future trips, I could totally see us staying at Roskhill in the future again.

Food: 3/5
Service: 4/5
Presentation: 4/5
Value: 4/5
Recommendation: 3.75/5

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent B&B with facilities more akin to a five star hotel. The couple who run it are lovely and cater for your every need. The breakfast was outstanding - I'd return just for that. We went for the traditional cooked breakfast with a few modern twists like wild boar sausage. It was exceptional but there were plenty of other options. They even made us, for a small fee, a packed lunch which served us well as it can hard finding food when touring the Highlands and Islands and it allowed us to see much more the next day. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmodeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nicely presented cottage in countyside just outside of Dunvegan. Facility was well appointed and immaculately clean. Room and bed were comfortable. Shared sitting room with wifi was a bonus. Breakfasts were wonderfully prepared and plentiful. Hosts were cordial though predominantly transactional, made dinner reservations for us and gave good guidance for a hike when requested. We were very wll pleased with our stay and recommend Roshkill House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a first rate B&B. We had a larger room with a king-sized bed for 3 nights 14th - 16th September. Bedroom was spotlessly clean and simply but beautifully furnished with good quality oak bedroom furniture (which quite frankly I wanted to take home with me) and touches like toiletries, playing cards, torch, fridge for milk, tea, coffee and biscuits, tourist info. Big bathroom. Lovely guest lounge with tea, coffee and home-made cake available. You are on Skye so don't expect consistent mobile and wifi access - so a phone and a computer with internet access is made available for you in the lounge. Quite simply the best cooked breakfast I have ever eaten - they obviously use really good quality produce which is then excellently cooked by Julia. Alan took care to recommend and book our first night's meal for us. Don't expect a view! Lovely old traditional building looks out to a windbreak hedge - but step round the corner (or into the garden where there are tables for use in good weather) to the magnificence that is Skye. Good position for exploring all the island and being away from the Cuillins means often you can watch them brooding in the weather whilst being in sunshine yourself. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaSuliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our three night stay was most comfortable with excellent breakfasts. We were asked to indicate our breakfast menus each evening for the following morning - the choice was excellent and the food was very well prepared. We also experienced rapid repair of a breakage in the shower, at some inconvenience to the owner but with no word of complaint. The location is ideal for exploring north and west of Skye and is within easy reach of attractions such as Portree and Talisker distillery - and the very historic Dunvegan Castle. The absence of television in bedrooms is understandable and television is available in the residents' lounge. WiFi is also available in the lounge and the owners explained that WiFi in the rooms is a 'work in progress'! The residents' lounge is well equipped with maps and information about the area. We have no hesitation in recommending Roskill House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Julia and Allen were terrific hosts. The rooms we booked were comfortable and attractive with attention paid to detail. They arranged our dinner reservations for one night and gave us good advice for the other night. The local map Julia loaned us was a real blessing for the day we spent driving around Skye. I wish we'd been able to stay longer, and would be glad to stay there again if lucky enough to be on Skye again. Be sure to try Julia's fresh granola and baked goods as part of a delicious hot breakfast. There is also local sausage to try, and eggs sourced locally. When they suggest The Old School House as a restaurant, go!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roskhill
6.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
33.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#2 of 6 in Skeabost
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
2.0 mi away
Tullochard House
Tullochard House
#3 of 10 in Dunvegan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roskhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roskhill House

Property: Roskhill House
Address: By Dunvegan, Roskhill IV55 8ZD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Roskhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Roskhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roskhill House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roskhill House is the ideal centre for exploring the magical Isle of Skye. Situated on the A863, three miles south of Dunvegan, Roskhill House enjoys a peaceful, country setting. Recently refurbished, it offers comfortable accommodation whilst maintaining a cosy feel in character with its traditional charm. We have a non-smoking policy throughout the property. Alan & Julia assure you of a warm welcome to this unique old croft house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roskhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roskhill House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing