We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roskhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taigh Barr at Roskhill Barn
Ranked #3 of 3 Roskhill B&B and Inns
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy & peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our family of two adults & 5 year old son stayed here for two nights. Great location for exploring Skye. Fridge was very well stocked with breakfast supplies which we could cook at our leisure, rather than having to be up at a certain time.

Apartment was very clean & stocked full of lots of information about the area. There were plenty of DVD's, puzzles & books. We really enjoyed a few of the local walking tracks & took hundreds of photos of the stunning local scenery.

Would have liked to stay a lot longer to really unwind.

Room Tip: This upstairs apartment comes with two bedrooms. One with a double bed, the other with two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Roskhill Barn is situated in a very peaceful location, so quiet and restful. We enjoyed our 2 night stay.The accommodation was warm and cosy which was greatly appreciated as the weather was cold, wet and windy. The food provided for breakfast was varied and local produce was used whenever possible. We liked the freedom of being able to cook our own breakfast at the time that suited us, a cooker, microwave oven and fridge freezer are contained in the apartment so it is very easy to self cater.
We used Roskhill Barn as a base to explore the Isle of Skye and it was ideally situated for that purpose, the scenery is incredible even when it is pouring with rain.
We would recommend Roskhill Barn to anyone who wants peace and quiet, comfortable accommodatio and a hearty breakfast.
We would certainly stay at the Barn if we returned to Skye in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've just had a lovely 4 nights stay at Roskhill Barn with our good friends. The views are Beautiful , just what we needed to relax and unwind from a busy working life. Sue & Richard are the perfect hosts , Sue made sure that the fridge was well stocked up with fresh food for breakfast . The isle of Skye is a wonderful place to visit ,amazing views lots to see. We would all like to return to Skye again and we will most certainly want to stay in one of Sue & Richards properties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl1500Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We started our holiday on Skye in Loch View Cottage, at Carbost (also owned by Sue & Richard) and then moved on for a 2 night stay at Roskhill Barn. We were greeted by lovely cake, and shown around by Sue. What a fabulous arrangement -Sue provides everything that you might need for either a continental, or a cooked breakfast, or a combination, and you then prepare what you want, when you want, so no being tied to B&B breakfast times, and because you have the use of a small but well equipped kitchen, you can also cook in the evening, if you wish. Sue replenishes the fridge daily - really lovely idea.

Our accommodation was very comfortable, warm and clean, with the added bonus of a bath, as well as a shower. The toiletries provided were also really nice? Bliss for those aching muscles after exploring the beauty of Skye. The views are stunning, and my camera went into overdrive! It was also lovely to have our own lounge area to relax in. Self contained, but with breakfast provided. Wonderful!

We could not have asked for anything more. Thank you Sue & Richard (& the lovely Coupar) for helping to make our stay so very enjoyable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty barn, small but practical :) the views are amazing, such a great place to unwind and relax! owners were very nice and welcoming. Fridge was replenished with fresh food for breakfast! Our 2 year old son loved it :) there are no restaurants close by but we have been to a restaurant/pub 15 mins drive which was reasonable! I surely recommend this barn :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agauci2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were visiting Skye for hill walking and to enjoy the natural beauty here. After driving all the way from London, we reached here to find this place perfect to calling it home for 3 days.

The apartment was very clean and furnished well. Best part of this place was the beautiful morning view from living room. Each morning first thing I did was, open the door enjoy fresh air and take some photographs.

If you are after some action in the evening then restaurants and pubs are bit far but then there is full kitchen in the apartment to cook your own dinner. We were driving anyways so this is not something to complain about. If you are not driving (??) then just ensure you figure out shops restaurants etc. Owners Susan and Richard are very helpful if you need any guidance. They helped us with all the information we needed via email before we came down.

There is absolutely nothing to complaint about but still if I have to find one then there is no private swimming pool and a helipad ;-).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anilhemnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A first time trip to Skye for a short 2 day stay. Roskhill Barn was a comfortable place to stay with two friendly and helpful owners in Sue and Richard. They sent us helpful emails prior to our visit giving the best routes to Skye and asked if we needed anything on our arrival. They also gave us help on the best places to see given our short timeline!

We had fantastic weather and climbed the Old Man of Storr and the ridge and then visited Rubha Hanish and went right to the tip of the peninsular. The views were amazing and a memorable 2 days!

We will definitely stay at Roskhill Barn when we return to Skye and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLiddicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roskhill
0.0 mi away
Roskhill House
Roskhill House
#2 of 3 in Roskhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
2.1 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Tables Guest House
The Tables Guest House
#2 of 10 in Dunvegan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tullochard House
Tullochard House
#3 of 10 in Dunvegan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyll House B & B
Argyll House B & B
#7 of 10 in Dunvegan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taigh Barr at Roskhill Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taigh Barr at Roskhill Barn

Property: Taigh Barr at Roskhill Barn
Address: Roskhill Barn, Roskhill IV55 8ZD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Roskhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Roskhill
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roskhill Barn apartment is the entire first floor of the Barn. Enjoy the extensive sea and mountain views. An outside staircase leads to your fully private accommodation - a lounge/kitchen/diner, one double bedroom, one twin bedroom and a bathroom. Breakfast items are provided for you to cook when you choose. Come and go as you please. Experience a different kind of Bed and Breakfast at Roskhill Barn. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taigh Barr At Roskhill Barn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing