We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Views of Glamaig & The Cuillins
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views of Glamaig & The Cuillins
Not far now too Kirsty's Cottage...... Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Views of Glamaig & The Cuillins
Not far now too Kirsty's Cottage......
Welcome
Your daily view, well someone has to enjoy it!
'Hy-drangea'
Kirsty's Cottage viewed from the garden.
Cosy nights by the fire.
Dinner is served....
Kitchen showing entrance to Utility/Cloak room
Utility/Cloakroom
Sun Room a great place to dine and relax!
Sun Room
Sun Room's quiet corner
Main bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Local beach
The drive home after a day exploring!
One of Archie's favourite walks!
Local area
Seals bask on the rocks, as viewed from the cottage.
Local wildlife viewed from the cottage
Red delight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ian g
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Simply Perfection”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is my first ever review for trip advisor or indeed any other online review site regarding holidays so the fact this holiday has propted me out of my normal indolence is already a good sign!

This is a simply lovely cottage in a heartbreakingly beautiful location. The cottage is extremely warm and cosy thanks to the underfloor heating and well equipped with everything you could want. It is very handily located in a very quiet spot and the garden, thanks to Dawn's regular refilling of its bird feeders (!) attracts a host of lovely birds which are a delight to watch from the breakfast room.

Communications with Dawn and Andrew were always very prompt and Dawn who we dealt with during our time on Skye is a lovely person who was always available if needed but respected our need for seclusion completely.

The island is magical and having never been previously it is all we hoped for and more.

Totally recommended cottage on a most captivating island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slightly irregular wifi but not a big issue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics, England
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, homeliness, comfort
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sun room and log-burning stove.
Liked least: The weather!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helenlaff...
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy retreat with fantastic views”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

John and I couldn't have chosen anywhere better than Skye and Kirsty's Cottage for our wedding and honeymoon. And Dawn and Andrew couldn't have been better hosts. Their cosy beautiful cottage has the most amazing views and was the perfect romantic setting for us. The cottage is extremely comfortable, and has all you could wish for to make it feel like a home from home, from the well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedroom, to the cosy sitting room with its very welcoming wood burner. It was an added bonus to us that we were able to get to know Dawn and Andrew who not only very kindly agreed to be witnesses at our wedding, but provided some wonderful company during our stay. Thank you so much both, we hope to stay in touch and maybe enjoy more good times together in the future. X

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
markdlaws...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, stunning location...”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Kirsty's cottage in October, and were treated to a week of fantastic weather. The cottage itself was ideal for our needs, a spacious and extremely well looked after cottage that is located in a quiet and relaxing part of Skye. The area the cottage is based in, about a 15 minute drive from Portree, is picturesque and ideal for a relaxing stay. The location also provides a good base for exploring the rest of the island and as i mentioned previously, is close enough to Portree to be able to go to shops, bars, restaurants etc as well.

The cottage owners were very helpful in the booking process and met us on arrival and showed us around the cottage. The cottage has everything you need for your stay, and with 2 bedrooms plus the sun room which can also be converted in to a bedroom if needed, there is plenty of space. There is also a lovely spacious garden that looks out over the water, our dog especially enjoyed the opportunity to explore all of it! The garden is also ideal if you get nice weather, and we found ourselves sat outside a number of times enjoying the views and the peace and quiet. And when it got a bit chillier in the evening it was nice to be able to pop inside and warm up by the wood burner!

It was our firsat visit to Skye and we were not dissapointed, the island is stunning and breathtaking, and we definitely need more visits to be able to explore it fully. As it was, we only really got top explore the northern half of the island, so we will definitely be back for more! Highlights included walks taking in the Old Man of Storr, the Fairy Pools, the Quirang, Nesit Point, Talisker Bay and the Coral Beach. We also ate and drank alot through the week - and although somewhat restricted by having the dog with us (alot of places to eat, particularly in Portree, are not dog friendly) we particularly enjoyed visits to the Flodigarry Inn Hotel for food (highly recommended, especialy for the view), Jan's Cakes in Dunvegan (excellent cakes) and Cafe Arriba in Portree.

Overall, we had a na amazing week in Kirsty's cottage, and i would not hesitate in recommending it if you visit Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage and amaxing views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;