We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Portree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good option in Portree”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Braeside B&B has a very good location in Portree: in the city centre, opposite a supermarket and a few steps away from the place where you can take the typical picture of Portree harbour.

Since we were 4, we could only stay in the triple bedded room which has no ensuite bathroom; however, it still has a sink, and the bathroom next door is private. Everything was clean and we had a nice 2-night stay at the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Arrived at the B&B on 14th Sept 2011 and stayed there for 2 nights on triple room. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. The hot breakfast was excellent, as expected and it was situated in the right location in Portree. If you are driving, you can park in front of the B&B (1 car park only) or anywhere in the nearby areas.

If you are there, dont ever try to eat your dinner at Lower Desk Restaurant near harbour because it was not great. Try other pubs/restaurants nearby.

Also, if you forget to take anything, dont worry. There is a Co-Operative Supermarket in Portree which is very convenience and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Steps from the bars and restaurants in Portree - a great location. Parking was a bit of a challenge but manageable. The bed and room were very comfortable and clean. there was a bit of noise in the morning from the trucks at the back of the supermarket right outside, but apart from that it was very quiet. Breakfast was a bit too intimate owing to the small size of the room, and not so relaxing. The host Philip also seemed not very relaxed but was happy to accomodate our requests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very central. Parking could be difficult in peak season. Comfortable lounge for guests with excellent reading material provided.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had a satisfactory stay in this establishment. It is great value for money - i don't think we could have found anything cheaper in as good a location. This B&B is centerally located.
The room was ok, had tea and coffee making facilities. Room felt a bit cramped but this is not due to size of room but fact that ceiling is lower than normal. The room was fairly large. Good bathroom, hot water in the shower. Breakfast was good.
Service is ok, the owner is not overly friendly or helpful, but did seem to warm up on our last morning.
Two negatives for us:
Stairs in this place are an issue, they are tight and hard to get up with luggage. Not suitable for those with difficulties.
There is no lock on the bedroom door.
All in all, a good experience with no complaints!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this cosy B&B (which is actually part of the owner's house). The double room that we booked (with an extra bedra bed) was very clean and rather spacious. The breakfast, served by Philip, the owner was also quite nice and filling! The greatest asset of this B&B however is the location, very close to the Harbour and the central square where most restaurant are also located (there are almost no pubs in Portree...).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Braeside is modern, clean and light in the centre of town but with a cottagey feel and views across the harbour. we all felt welcome and relaxed, including the dogs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manaboutadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 93 in Portree
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 93 in Portree
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Braeside Bed and Breakfast
Address: Braeside Stormyhill Road, Portree IV51 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Location, 250 metres from Bus terminal, Shops, Banks and Harbour.Braeside Bed & Breakfast is reputed to be the first Bed & Breakfast tohave been established in Portree and offers authentic highland hospitality.Situated in the very heart of Portree you will be hard pressed to find a more welcoming Bed and Breakfast in this picturesque port. Braeside is one of the oldest houses in Portree and was formerly a farm house and byre.Braeside B & B is literally 2 minutes walk from the town centre and from the garden has views of Portree's magnificent harbour still bustling with its fishing boats and yachts, lots of lazy hours can be spent just sitting watching the boats come and go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Braeside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Bed And Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing