We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, fantastic food”

Foreland Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foreland Guest House
Ranked #74 of 98 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was booked here through a travel tour of the Ilse of Skye, and I am so glad they picked it. The rooms are cozy and very clean, bathroom was large and clean. You order your breakfast the night before and get both your hot meal (great eggs and I love the grilled tomatoes), and you also have a large selection of fruit, breads, snack cakes, spreads, hot porridge, etc. we ate very well both mornings, and the view out of our window was stunning. I do want to note that on Skye in the summer, the sun does not set until nearly midnight and it rises by 5, so I recommend bringing a sleep mask, as the room can get bright quite early. Fantastic stay in a cute B&B!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rambler541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Foreland in May for four nughts. It was very comfortable with up to date facilities. The breakfast choices were very good, more than usual B&B menu.I lovede the smoked haddick! The hosts were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We worried that going to Scotland would mean rain, rain rain. But no, we left our sunglasses at home in London and took a chance. After reaching PORTEE on SKYE we turned left and stayed 3 nights. A lovely warm welcome, incredibly quiet area where we slept like babies. They
wanted to be sure ALL was perfect for us, " was your bed comfortable, have you enough tea/ coffee/ milk. Tell us if we can help with anything." We loved it there, so clean and tidy, great breakasts and we could hear the birds,outside, at breakfast. We wished we had time to stay longer.

Room Tip: You can choose a different room, if they have the availability. We moved rooms, after 2nd night cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for the night on a Saturday. B&B Located a 5min walk from town so real close by, in a quiet area at the top of a hill. The rooms were clean and comfortable, lovely views across the hills from the room window. Would have been nice if all rooms were en-suite but our bathroom was a short walk down the hallway.
Had the cooked breakfast which was fine and there was decent choice for anyone wanting anything else.
A decent place to stay for a night or two but if going for the week I think maybe a self catering lodge would be the best bet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was so bad that we left after 2 nights. The rooms are so noisy that you can hear the neighbours word by word, when they making love..., and after that snore.
So sleeping and relaxing on your room was not nice.
Then the breakfast: they say on there website that the breakfast is the most important meal from the day. In praxis it was the worst meal of the day. Not fresh and very simple ready to use products like pre-baked croissant with salmon parts so small you need magnifying glass to find.
My impression is that the owners like to make easy money, because 35 pound pp is far to much. This is no 3 star accommodation!!!

Also no free WiFI, you must pay for this, ridiculous!

So for us, never again!!

Room Tip: no advice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We ended up in Portree at 4.30pm on Easter weekend and this was one of the few places with a room available. It's at the top of a long hill overlooking Portree and you could be on a housing estate anywhere in the world, picturesque it isn't.
The welcoming was friendly enough however and the room was functional and spotlessly clean and warm. Breakfast had a good cold selection although the cooked side was a bit disappointing. £50 a night would be right, £70 is pushing it but when you've got no choice you take what you can get!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Was booked into this B&B thru the 3 day isle of Skye tour. Wouldn't have chosen this for the price of £76 for a twin room.

First of all, it's abt 7-10mins away from the town (located up on the hill). Not a big problem since we enjoyed the serenity of the neighborhood.

The room is obviously outdated but gave an excellent view of the mountain.

Host was friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast was normal, portion just nice. Had tasted better fare at this price.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindylow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 26 in Portree
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home Farm Apartments
Home Farm Apartments
#12 of 26 in Portree
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quayside Apartment
Quayside Apartment
#21 of 26 in Portree
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foreland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foreland Guest House

Address: Foreland Stormyhill Road, Portree IV51 9DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Foreland Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing