We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully maintained and located property”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cedar

The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Longmynd1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained and located property”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a magical holiday island hopping around the Highlands and Islands in which we stayed at this property for one week of our break.
Firstly, the location can not be faulted, perfectly situated in the habour with stunning views morning, noon and night. Great for walking, amenities, entertainment and public transport.
The house had EVERYTHING required to make a family, couples or friends stay perfect. We particularly enjoyed the sauna and spa bath, especially at the end of a busy day walking. There was a good selection of DVD's and games.
The property is obviously maintained and cleaned to a high standard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona C
1 review
“Fantastic well equipped house with the most stunning views.”
Reviewed April 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fantastic house, well equipped with everything, but the highlight has to be the stunning views. We certainly miss waking up to a beautiful scenic view. Whirlpool bath and sauna a welcome luxury. Ideal location for exploring Skye, but a lovely relaxing house also for lazy days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped cottage in perfect location with stunning views”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This cottage was a delightful surprise and even better than expected from the website pictures. The place was comfortably furnished and well equipped with two bathrooms , a sauna and jacuzzi bath. We loved the views of the harbour and it was lovely that most of the windows were at the front of the house. The location is central so perfect for exploring the island and ideal to have access to a late opening supermarket and a range of places to eat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YDraenogC...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solid accommodation, great location on Skye”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed three nights in The Cedar in December 2017 and it was a great base for exploring Skye. If you've seen the iconic photos of Portree Harbor with the multi-colored facades, The Cedar is part of the green building. It is literally only a couple minutes' walk up the hill to the center of Portree.

The home itself is solid accommodation with everything that you need for a proper stay. Portree has a number of restaurants and pubs (Scorrybreac was fantastic), but if you want to cook your own meals, just pick up some groceries at the market (also a very short walk from the home). The kitchen is fully equipped. The home also has a washer and dryer, which was very useful to us. We arrived on Skye just before Storm Caroline, but braved the gale-force winds and rain to do some hiking anyway. Needless to say, we came back home with our pants wet and muddy. So the laundry facilities were a blessing.

We slept in an upstairs bedroom and the bed was quite comfortable. The upstairs bathroom had a whirlpool tub with a stand-up shower head. We had plenty of hot water and everything was nice and clean.

We spent far more time out driving and hiking around Skye rather than in the home. But for those who would rather hang out indoors, the home has TV and a selection of books and DVDs. The living room couch cushions did feel a bit flat and so may not be ideal for sitting for hours on end in front of the TV. The views of the harbor from inside the home are very nice. The harbor area when we were there was very quiet. It was obviously a working harbor, with fishing boats coming and going, but we rarely heard any outside noise. A few parallel parking spots are available directly in front of the home, but we always ended up parking farther down toward the fishmonger.

Sue Beech, the property manager, made the rental process very easy. Payment was through PayPal and she provided instructions before our arrival on how to find the home and how to gain access.

We would definitely stay in The Cedar again with no hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
achristin...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage by the harbour with an ever changing "landscape"”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely and cosy modern cottage- very well equipped and in great location. Weather has been good most of the time. Enjoyed watching the boats from the front window. For dinner, would recommend the Granary Restaurant (need to book) and MacKenzies bakery next door for nice fresh bread and rolls. If visiting Talisker Distillerary, the nearby Oyster Shed is great for seafood lunch/snacks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathy g
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the Cedar in September. It was great accomodation in a perfect location overlooking the harbour. would recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing