We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balloch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #49 of 95 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Portree and Barbara made us very welcome,breakfast was good with lots of choices. We were given lots of suggestions of places to visit the directions and approx timeframes to get there.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Morag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed with Barbara for one night while visiting Portree. Barbara is a great host, served up a lovely breakfast and was so helpful suggesting places to visit. Our room was very well appointed, fresh milk in a wee fridge with homemade shortbread to have with a cup of tea. The place to stay if in Portree.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tonyrose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My friend and I stayed in twin room number 4 at the end of a three day road trip. It was fine for the one night however - in comparison with the other two b&bs we stayed at on Lewis & Harris, this b&b definitely lacks of that something special that would make it qualify as "lovely".

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Elvy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have finally come to the realisation that Portree is maybe not the best town to stay in when on Skye. Everything was absolutely fine and the owners friendly enough, however, it lacked that little extra spark to make it special. Looks like the owners are looking to sell, so this may be reflected in the general feel...?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Warm welcome. Outstanding room beautiful decor. Bed very firm, perfect after a days driving especially if you have back problems.
Short walk to town and petrol a hundred yards away.
Breakfast excellent. Full Scottish breakfast available with lots of lovely fruit selection.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbieb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love everything in this B&B, cute decoration, clean rooms, Breakfast is tasty ... and Owner, Catherine, is really friendly and helpful. Highly recommend everyone to stay here in your visit at Portree !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anupharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked in here on sameday notice when the weather finished off out excursion to Uist. Great price, absolutely superb warm and cosy ensuite room. The guest lounge was spacious and cosy, breakfast was fantastic (the kippers were amazing and my girlfriend rated the poached eggs extremely highly) and the owners extremely helpful with great local knowledge

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mikeub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skye Haven
Skye Haven
#52 of 95 in Portree
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#12 of 95 in Portree
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 23 in Portree
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balloch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balloch Bed & Breakfast

Address: Balloch Viewfield Road | Portree, Isle of Skye, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: $66 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balloch Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balloch Bed and Breakfast is a homely and comfortable guest house 5 minutes walk from the centre of Portree. All rooms ensuite, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities, tv. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Balloch Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balloch Bed And Breakfast
Balloch Hotel Portree
Balloch Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing