We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, lovely host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skye Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skye Haven
Ranked #55 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place, lovely host.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My partner and I had great difficulty finding accommodation for the weekend we chose to visit Skye, but were very lucky indeed to have landed here. Our en suite room was perfect for our needs and Maria could not have been more attentive or welcoming. Very clean and comfortable establishment at a very good price. Breakfast was excellent, with a single long table making conversation with fellow guests a pleasant start to the day. Maria's advice on places to go was greatly appreciated. Even though we are regulars to Skye it helped to have an up to date view of local amenities. We would heartily recommend An Acarsaid to anyone staying in Portree and will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent two nights in this b/b and are very pleased to have done so. The hostess, Marie?, was most obliging and very knowledgeable. Her recommendations for restaurants were spot on as was her advice on "things to do and see".
The room, an en suite, was well furnished and very comfortable, if a little smaller than some we stayed in although there is a very comfortable guest lounge to relax in as well.
It's a fair walk into town and, given the likelihood of rain anywhere in western Scotland, there was a need for us to drive in so dinner drinks were limited.
It's a lovely spot to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We've just returned from a week in Scotland, including 4 days in Skye. We paid £70 per night for a double room, which was a fairly normal rate for Skye. The place is very clean and well maintained with a very helpful and kind host. We didn't have an en suite (the other 2 rooms are), which wasn't ideal, the room was pretty small and the bed (although very clean), needed a new (firm) mattress - as it wasn't a very comfortable sleep.

That all said, our host (Maria) was exceptionally helpful, nice breakfasts and great information/maps about Skye. Would recommend this place overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandsarah_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
570 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed at this B&B (my first one!) last week for two nights. Great value and the best breakfast we had all holiday. Our room was fine and the bathroom was fab, loads of space, nwe suiet and really clean. Nice walk into Potrree.
Would defintely recommended this B&B - standard excellent.

NB The other review of An Acarsaid in Glendale does not relate to this B&B on Viewfield Road.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#45 of 99 in Portree
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 21 in Portree
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Givendale Guest House
Givendale Guest House
#61 of 99 in Portree
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#15 of 99 in Portree
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Haven

Property: Skye Haven
Address: Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland (Formerly An Acarsaid)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Sea and Hill views await you at An Acarsaid. Our Guests Lounge, Dining Room and most Guest Rooms overlook our peaceful front Gardens with breathtaking outlooks across to Portree Bay, Ben Tianavaig and the Island of Raasay. Situated in a ideal location in Portree, the capital of the Isle of Skye, easy access, private parking and a leisurely 8 to 10 minute stroll from all the amenities of Portree allow for a relaxing and stress free stay. Enjoy the views and birdsong in our summer gardens or peruse through our Scottish library in the Guest Lounge, with wood stove in the chillier months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Skye Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skye Haven Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing