We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights in early July. The location was fantastic, at the top of the hill overlooking the beautiful bay. Our downstairs room was clean and spacious, with the hosts happy to help with any questions or concerns that arose. The breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit every morning, an excellent cooked option, and plenty of options for a vegetarian. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
231
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My response to this B&B is mixed and, as other people might not share my concerns I'll get those over first. The reader can then dismiss them (if they are not shared) and get on to the positives. I found the requirement that shoes should be removed before going up the fairly rough coil carpet on the stairs rather excessive. Muddy shoes? Yes, I'd be grateful to leave them down stairs but all the time? It is an unnecessary pest. The noise from the next door bathroom was disturbing, as indeed mine must have been for the occupants of the other room at the top of the staircase. No choice about whether the towels are changed on a daily basis is not satisfactory in my view. I would like a dry towel (the option to leave them on the very small warmed towel rail is no option when it is turned off before they are completely dry) each day. The wardrobe was awkward, compounded by the semi-fixed hangers. Now for the positives. The views from the room at the top are magnificent - lying in bed enjoying them was wonderful. The bed was fairly comfortable and the room was large and attractive. The breakfast was really delicious, with several choices as well as a special each day. The berries were special - a far cry from tinned fruit which was joyfully absent. The porridge was well liked by everyone who ordered it - with return orders the next morning. The pleasant surprise was the provision of a top sheet. Battling with the warmth of a duvet is a feature of all the places I have stayed in the UK and the sheet was a welcome change. With a good location and pleasant hosts this B&B is worth a try if you think my concerns are just trivial.

Room Tip: For the views take a room at the top, but be aware of the possibility of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentianavaig, Owner at Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the lovely positive comments about Ben Tianavaig - we very much appreciate the time people take to write reviews.
I'd like to deal with the 'niggles' as the review does not quite give the full picture of what we offer. I think we've already explained about shoes and the reasons for our policy at length but to reiterate.... we are a street house, we have well over 2000 different people in and out of the house many times a day over the course of a year, and whether shoes are muddy or not, this brings a lot of dirt into our home which we want to keep as clean as possible for our guests and for ourselves. So we ask guests not to wear outdoor shoes in the house. We offer slippers to all our guests as standard practice - slippers can be left downstairs on the shoe rack to be worn in the house - these guests decided not to have slippers..... they could have asked for them at any point during their stay.
Actually, we do offer to change towels on a daily basis - we explain that the towel warmer is there to dry off towels or warm them up before use and because we have towel warmers in 3 of the rooms, we don't automatically change towels (or indeed bed linen) on a 2 night stay but that we will if the guest requests it. The reviewer didn't make that request and we can only apologise if this offer was not made to the reviewer at check-in, we think it was - understandably after long journeys sometimes people are impatient to get check-in complete so they can relax and so may not hear everything that is said to them - all the information about changing linen and towels is in our brochure. (For the room that doesn't have a towel wamer we dry towels each day).
And finally, the bathroom noise....... well, unfortunately, there is not really a lot we can do about this issue - an inherited feature of the house which we can only deal with when work is done to refit the bathroom. We're really very sorry that the reviewer found it intrusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very convenient for Portree town and its amenities, location above the harbour is superb. Dedicated parking which is a plus. Extremely friendly and informative hosts who provide exceptional service. Breakfasts were plentiful and entertaining. The communal set up will work for some but possibly not for others, but limited space within the dining room is utilised to good effect, don't let it put you off staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in the downstairs rooms. Our room was basic, but was clean.
I recommend to stay at this place for the wonderful breakfast. Every day they had a different special (pancakes and muffins) or you could opt for the full Scottish of course. There was so much fruit, self made yoghurt and marmelades. It was difficult to choose!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayTeeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Skye just a few weeks ago. We loved this B&B because of the location, amenities but most of all the hosts were superb. Charlotte and Bill were so accommodating, wonderful people. They gave us all sorts of insight on where to go and what to see while on Skye. This is a great B&B, you won’t be disappointed. Oh, and I should mention, the breakfasts were wonderful. Thanks for everything.

Leslie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairhavenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a wonderful two-night stay at Ben Tianavaig in Portree. Charlotte and Bill gave us great tips for our visit. The breakfast was delicious and is eaten communally. This provided a great opportunity to meet other travelers and learn about their experiences.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel and Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Over the last two weeks, we have stayed in a castle, a small hotel, and four B&B's. Our family voted and we rank Ben Tianavaig as the best one in Scotland. The property is as wonderful as the hosts. We stayed with our two teenage boys in the family room(Staffin) for three nights. The room was very spacious and had a great view of the harbor. The included breakfasts were fantastic. Each morning, we would chat with Bill and Charlotte and they would offer advice on places to visit, eat, etc. We found all of their recommendations to be spot on. If you are staying on the Isle of Skye, this is the place for you!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 91 in Portree
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 91 in Portree
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ben Tianavaig B&B in Portree - all 4 guest rooms are en-suite and have great views out over the harbour, Loch Portree and the mountains. This is a wonderful base for exploring the glorious island of Skye, as well as enjoying the shops, restaurants and amenities of the town. We are open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ben Tianavaig Bed And Breakfast
Ben Tianavaig Hotel Portree
Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing