We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great wee getaway bothy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ellen's Bothy

Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Living area Woodburner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Living area
Woodburner.
Kitchen/living area with dining table.
Cosy dinner for two.
Tea and biscuits!
Bedroom
Outside bothy
Bothy from side with view to the sea (10 min walk to bay)
The Quiraing in summer
Sunset over the Quiraing
The Quiraing in winter
My dog on Staffin Bay!
Staffin Bay with views to Torridon
The neighbours
Sunset over the Outer Isles from Rubha Hunish (northern tip of Skye)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AL0166
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wee getaway bothy”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Homely cottage. Loved the wood burner. Ideal place for a getaway and a great base for touring Skye. Communication from owner was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babs1422
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal locaton”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Ellen's Bothy is in the ideal location for traveling around the Island. We particularly enjoyed driving around the north of the Island and found the Black Houses which are well worth a visit.
The Bothy it's self was very clean and well equipped. Loved the log burner which kept us warm and cosy. It was lovely being able to take the dogs with us and they were made very welcome, Ellen even thought of supplying blankets to allow them on the settee, something normally not allowed at home, the dogs treats were also a nice touch.
We appreciated the welcome tray, with Westie shaped shortbread. Nice touch Ellen, thank you!
All in all a super holiday in a super place.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macsporra...
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully amazing!”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well what can I say!! What a lovely wee bothy! Great location! Stunning views! Such a warm wee bothy especially when the wood burner is on! We got married in the bothy, such a beautiful intimate ceremony just the two of us! Neither of us actually wanted to leave the bothy nor the Isle of Skye! We have already told Ellen that we will be back next year! Love this gem of a bothy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: the midgies
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

When we arrived a at the both it was exactly as Ellen described and everything we needed to settle in was there. Real homely and cosy and.a joy to wake up each morning. Would definitely go back, than you Ellen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: All good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tori L
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy wee house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about Ellen's bothy was simply perfect. The house was immaculate on arrival with lovely wee welcome gifts. There was enough fuel for the fire to last the 3 nights we stayed and the bed is so comfy!

Our top tips are to catch the Quiraing at sunrise and to sit outside the bothy on a clear night and watch the stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments. I am happy you enjoyed staying at the bothy and experiencing the wonderful sights and sounds of the area!

Best wishes

Ellen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chillaxing Holiday then book Ellen's Bothy”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From time of booking to end of holiday everything was excellent.
Once booked we contacted Ellen who gave local information and explicit directions to get to the bothy.
On arrival we met Wendy (Housekeeping) who was charming and very helpful, our two mini dachshunds liked her as she spoke to them and told them were the dog treats were in the bothy..nice touch.

The bothy was as described and a lovely place to explore Skye from.

Misha and Willow the mini dachshunds think we would be Barking Mad not to return to Skye another year.

Bonuses were no midges and only rain 1 night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Lol. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We do hope to welcome you again in the future! Best wishes, Ellen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivian V
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a warm welcome in a cozy bothy”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time on skye and Ellen's bothy was the perfect starting point for our daily brief journeys. Ellen wellcomed us so nice with milk, hot choclate, tea and shortbread. The directions to the bothy were very detailed and thus helpfull (and needed :)).
The bothy was clean and left nothing to be desired. The stove was very nice and provided everything, we needed after a long walking tour. The private parking lot was huge and there is a little garden with benches surrounding the bothy.
Thank you very much for everything, we will come back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, stove, the good weather, sheeps, the map in the hallway and the warm welcome
Liked least: leaving (and the midges)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing