We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little hotel in a great location”
Review of Pier Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier Hotel
Ranked #70 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
garden grove
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool little hotel in a great location”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I loved the location and the charm of the hotel. I picked this hotel because of where it was and the inside pics looked fine. But my wife had a whole different opinion. She made fun of the room and the decoration. She complained about the shower and bathroom being too small and moldy. I have definitely stayed in worse hotels, but for me, opening the window and sitting on the window sill at the amazing view was great for me. The room had free wifi and was very roomy and comfortable. I will post pics so you can decide, just be sure to check with any "diva" spouse you may have first!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scienceguy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We were looking for a hotel to sleep in for one night on Skye and this was fine. The room was modern with relatively new looking furnishings, but cruise-ship small. The lobby of the hotel was the dive-y bar. The breakfast area was very small (like an entry vestibule) and worn looking but clean enough. The hallway/stair area leading to rooms was dark and dated. You scoured for parking along the pier and downtown area (which luckily we found easily enough).
Was OK for the 9 hours we needed it for (especially since the room itself was nicer than the rest of the hotel), but wouldn’t have wanted to base a multi-night stay on Skye here. Price was certainly reasonable compared to other options, which is why we chose it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, British Isles
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed in the Pier Hotel for two nights. The entrance is next to the hotel bar, and together with the breakfast room / stair well is a bit shabby. However, the room we had on the second floor had a great view of the harbour, and was pretty spacious. I think the hotel had what they call character...

We had a drink in the hotel bar both nights - it has a slightly eccentric look and feel but was busy and frequented by both locals and visitors, with bottled local beer and a range of whisky - had to be tried!

We were initially worried about noise from the bar, but it shut on time and we had a good night's sleep.

The view from the room was great - good have sat and looked at it for hours...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseybeanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stumbled on to the Pier Hotel through Trip Advisor and one of the notes said it isn't a hotel. The note is accurate, it isn't a hotel, but there are 8 rooms and they run a small restaurant on the lower level. We were a little wary when we walked in as the halls are small and a little dirty, but the rooms are clean and updated. The view from the room is great, you are right on the pier and have a great view of the harbor. The window in the small room is about four feet tall and opens in, like a door, so that can sit in the window and watch the people below.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaAkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The hotel is ancient and the rooms are small. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast was good. Early breakfast is offered for early departures. The location is right on the waterfront which means you walk up the hill to get to the town and town square. We had room #3 which has not yet been renovated so I think some of the other rooms were nicer than ours. But we had a good stay at The Pier Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here with great location but if you want a larger than cramped room you will need to try somewhere a little mor expensive

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed in Peir hotel for 3 nights, middle of June - we were so lucky with the weather - 18 degrees all the time, sunshine! Hotel is perfectly located in Portree centre, so we easily toured the island and the mainland too. We had rooms number 2 and 3. No.2 has been upgraded, has new carpets and furniture, no. 3 was a clean, simply, smallish room with TV. Both rooms overlooking the pier - lovely small, colorful boats in the company of beautiful mountains..English breakfast was excellent! The owner, Donald, was very friendly and helpful - borrowed the map and gave us some tips for travel around. Small sea food restaurants all around, all fresh from the sea but not cheap - 15-16 pounds for the main meal, like in London. They stopped cooking at 9-9.30 pm, so hurry up for a nice meal in the evening..parking is the only problem near hotel, you have to arrive early to be able to park somewhere..

I would highly recommend to visit Man of Storr, Kilt Rock, Quiraing, Glen Brittle, Elgol, Coral beach and Apple Cross on the mainland! And if the weather is good, you will get the best experience! And take a ferry from Mallaig - you may see some dolphins!

The Pier hotel is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spygliukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tongadale Hotel
The Tongadale Hotel
#48 of 93 in Portree
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#16 of 93 in Portree
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Portree IV51 9DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing